Nobel Prize 2019 in Literature Winner: Polish Author Olga Tokarczuk and Austrian Writer Peter Handke Awarded Honour For 2018 & 2019 Respectively
Nobel Prize in Literature Awarded to Olga Tokarczuk and Peter Handke. (Photo Credits: Nobel Academy)

Stockholm, October 10: The Nobel Prize for literature 2019 was announced on Wednesday, October 10. The Swedish Academy bestowed the honour on two writers this year for their exceptional work in the field of literature. The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2018 was awarded to the Polish author Olga Tokarczuk. The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2019 was awarded to the Austrian author Peter Handke. Nobel Prize: List of Countries With Most Nobel Laureates, Know Where India Stands.

"The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2018 is awarded to the Polish author Olga Tokarczuk for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life," said the Academy in its description.

"Olga Tokarczuk, awarded the 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature, never views reality as something stable or everlasting. She constructs her novels in a tension between cultural opposites; nature versus culture, reason versus madness, male versus female, home versus alienation," further continued the academy.

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2019 is awarded to the Austrian author Peter Handke “for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience," said the academy in its tribute to the writer.

"The peculiar art of Peter Handke, awarded the 2019 #NobelPrize in Literature, is the extraordinary attention to landscapes and the material presence of the world, which has made cinema and painting two of his greatest sources of inspiration," said the Academy about Austrian writer Peter Handke.

The Nobel Prize is a prestigious honour awarded annually for outstanding contribution in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, economics, and the promotion of peace. Nobel Prize in Literature 2019: Here are Five Things to Know About Prestigious Award.

Read the Tweet Below

Facts on Nobel Prize in Literature

110 Nobel Prizes in Literature have been awarded since 1901.

4 Literature Prizes have been shared between two persons.

14 women have been awarded the Literature Prize so far.

41 years was the age of the youngest Literature Laureate ever, Rudyard Kipling, best known for The Jungle Book.

88 years was the age of the oldest Literature Laureate ever, Doris Lessing, when she was awarded the Prize in 2007.

How is the Nobel Prize in Literature Decided? (Watch Video)

Apart from Literature, the Nobel Prize this year has been awarded in Medicine, Physics and Chemistry has been announced. The 2019 Nobel Prize for Medicine has been jointly awarded to William G. Kaelin Jr, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza for their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability. The Noble Prize in Physics was awarded to James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz. The Prize in Chemistry was awarded to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino. The Swedish academy awarded the prize to the three researchers “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.”