Amarpur, the assembly constituency of Bihar based in Banka district, was expected to witness a trilateral battle between the Janata Dal (United), Indian National Congress and the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). The seat went to polls in the first phase of elections, scheduled on October 28. The results were declared by the Election Commission of India on November 10. Jayant Raj of the JD(U) has been declared the winner. Bihar Election Results 2020: NDA Wins Another Term With 125 Seats.

Amarpur was among the 71 vidhan sabha segments that were contested in first round of the elections. In the last assembly polls held in 2015, the seat was won by JD(U) MLA Janardan Manjhi. The then BJP candidate, Mrinal Shekhar, who emerged as the runner-up is now contesting on the LJP ticket. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 1 Dates And Schedule: Voting on October 28, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 1 Elections

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 8
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 9
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 12
Voting Date  October 28
Result Date  November 10

From the Mahagathbandhan, the Amarpur constituency was allotted to the Congress. The party named Jitendra Singh as its candidate. The rival NDA camp allowed JD(U) to retain the seat. Sitting MLA Janardan Manjhi paved the way for his son Jayant Raj. The LJP candidate is Mrinal Shekhar, who jumped ship from the BJP on being denied the ticket.

The poll battle in Bihar was considered a close contest, despite the opinion polls ahead of the elections largely predicting a return for the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA government. The pre-poll surveys, despite giving an edge to the ruling coalition, projected an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Anjani KumarIND865
Jayant Raj (Current MLA)JD(U)54308
Jitendra SinghINC51194
Pravin Kumar JhaIND2125
Anil Kumar SinghNCP2096
Krishana Mohan ThakurIND2089
Bipin Kishor RayIND1923
Ashok KumarRight to Recall Party1720
Pradip Kumar RanjanBhartiya Party (Loktantrik)1391
Pushkar KumarBhartiya Sablog Party1049
Mrinal ShekharLJPNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 12, 2020 12:42 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website