Congress' 6th List of Candidates For Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2018: Six Names Announced, Arun Yadav to Contest Against Shivraj Singh Chouhan
Congress. (Representational Image/ Photo Credits: ANI)

Bhopal. November 8: The Congress on Thursday released its sixth list of six candidates for the upcoming Madhya Pradesh assembly elections 2018. One seat has been left for Sharad Yadav’s Loktantarik Janata Dal. In the sixth list, the Congress has fielded former Union Minister and ex- party chief of MP Arun Yadav from Budhni against Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who is eyeing the fourth term as a CM. Yadav was removed as state party president in May and Kamal Nath was given the responsibility of the party chief in MP. Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2018: Congress Leader Premchand Guddu Quits Party, Joins BJP

The former union minister was Member of Parliament from Khandwa region. Many of his supporters were also given tickets from the region. Meanwhile, Chouhan has won Budhni seat thrice in 2005, 2008 and 2013. In the list, three candidates were announced as replacements from Manpur, Indore-1 and Ratlam Rural. Thavar Lal Bhuria has been given a ticket in place of JAYS member Laxman Singh Dindor. Before this list, the party announced the names of 226 candidates. Now, with this sixth list, the party has announced its candidates for 229 seats out of 230. The last date of filing nominations is on November 9.

As per the latest opinion poll results released by ABP News-Lokniti CSDS,  the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party is likely to win the upcoming assembly elections.  The pre-election survey predicts the BJP to defy the 15 years of anti-incumbency, and retain the state again with a paper-thin majority. The Shivraj Singh Chouhan-led outfit will win 116 seats -- one above the majority mark, the opinion poll claimed. The Congress, on the other hand, will be restricted to 105 constituencies -- 10 seats less than the halfway mark of 115. Other parties and independents are predicted to bag around nine assembly segments collectively.

The BJP is in power in Madhya Pradesh since 2003. The state will go to polls in a single phase on November 28. This year, apart from MP, four other states -Rajasthan, Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoran are also going for polls. The results for all the states are scheduled to be declared by the Election Commission on December 11.