Khagaria Vidhan Sabha constituency is one of the 243 constituencies of the Bihar Legislative Assembly. In the context of Lok Sabha Elections, the Khagaria seat falls under the same name. It was one of the 36 seats in Bihar Assembly Elections, where a VVPAT was used for voting. The constituency has a history of high-profile clashes over the years. Congress's Chhatrapati Yadav won the seat in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. The Bihar Vidhan Sabha Polls were conducted in 3 phases, as against the usual 5-phase elections.

The 1st phase of Bihar Assembly Elections took place on October 28 (71 seats), the 2nd phase on November 3 (94 seats), while the last phase was on November 7 (78 seats). The EC declared the results of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 on November 10.

The main contenders from the Khagaria constituency, in the Bihar Elections, were Poonam Devi Yadav (JD-U), Chatrapati Yadav (Congress), and Renu Kumari (LJP). Poonam Devi Yadav of the Janata Dal (United) was the incumbent MLA from the Khagaria constituency. Not just that, she was a 3-time MLA from the same seat. Be it about Bihar Elections 2005, 2010, or 2015, it was Poonam Devi who emerged victoriously from the same constituency.

The BJP-JD(U) alliance was said to have suffered a jolt when Chirag Paswan-led LJP decided to contest Bihar Polls alone. However, the NDA won the elections with 125 seats.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Shobha DeviIND923
Pinku KumariBahujan Mukti Party864
Er. Dharmendra KumarIND8529
Raghu Veer SharmaIND683
Shubhankar KumarAngika Samaj Party589
Amithav KumarIND555
Sanjeev KumarThe Plurals Party517
Chhatrapati Yadav (Current MLA)INC46980
Rajesh ChourasiyaRashtravadi Janata Party462
Raj HarshIND451
Poonam Devi YadavJD(U)43980
Sikandra Azad VaktaIND416
Gopal Krishan Kumar ChandanIND3161
Jitendra YadavIND3023
Alka KumariIND1450
Kripa SindhuRashtriya Jan Jan Party1350
Manohar Kumar YadavJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)11589
Uday ShankarIND1016
Md Faruque AhmadRLSPNA
Renu KumariLJPNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 11, 2020 02:28 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website