Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Left Front Committee Releases First List of 25 Candidates for West Bengal
Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: File)

Kolkata, March 15: The Left Front Committee on Friday released their first list of 25 candidates for West Bengal for the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections. Thought they have earlier mentioned that Mohammad Salim and Badaruddoza Khan to contest from Raiganj and Murshidabad respectively, names of 23 others cited in the newly released list.

As per the circular released by the Left Front Committee in Kolkata, Nepaldev Bhattacharya would contest from the DumDum seat, while Dr Fuad Halim would be contesting from Diamond Harbour. The list also points out that Nandini Mukherjee would be fighting from Kolkata Dakshin and Maksuda Khathun would contest from Uluberia seat. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

Informing more about the declaration of candidates, the Left Front stated that they would soon release the names of other candidates, which would be jointly contested with Congress in the alliance. However, the segregation of seats have still not been finalised between the Left Front and Congress, it is expected that Congress might ask for 15 seats in the remaining 17 constituencies.

Left Front Committee's First List of Candidates for West Bengal
Sl No.  Constinuency  Candidate Party
1 Cooch Behar (SC) Govind Roy AIFB
2 Alipurduars (ST) Mili Oraon AIFB
3 Jalpaiguri (SC) Bhagirath Roy CPI(M)
4 Raiganj Mohammad Salim CPI(M)
5 Balurghat Ronen Barman RSP
6 Murshidabad Badaruddoza Khan CPI(M)
7 Ranaghat (SC) Rama Biswas CPI(M)
8 Bangaon Alokesh Das CPI(M)
9 Dum Dum Nepaldeb Bhattacharya CPI(M)
10 Barasat Haripad Biswas AIFB
11 Basirhat Pallab Sengupta CPI
12 Jaynagar Subhash Naskar CPI
13 Diamond Harbour Dr Fuad Halim CPI(M)
14 Jadavpur Bikasranjan Bhattacharya CPI(M)
15 Kolkata Dakshin Nandini Mukherjee CPI(M)
16 Uluberia Maksuda Khatun CPI(M)
17 Hooghly Pradip Saha CPI(M)
18 Arambag (SC) Shaktimohan Mallick CPI(M)
19 Ghatal Tapan Ganguly CPI
20 Medinipur Biplob Bhatt CPI
21 Purulia Bir Singh Mahato AIFB
22 Bishnupur (SC) Sunil Khan CPI(M)
23 Bardhaman Purba (SC) Iswarchandra Das CPI(M)
24 Bardhaman - Durgapur Abhas Roychowdhary CPI(M)
25 Birbhum Dr Rezaul Karim CPI(M)

As per the Election Commission’s announcement on March 10, there would be seven phases of polls in the state, with ample security deployed to ensure peaceful elections. The polls would be conducted on April’s 11, 18, 23, 29 and May’s 6, 12, 19 in the state. The results of the Lok Sabha elections would be announced on May 23.