Murshidabad Lok Sabha Constituency Results 2019 in West Bengal: Abu Taher Khan of TMC Wins Parliamentary Election
Murshidabad Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Kolkata, May 23: The results of the Murshidabad Lok Sabha constituency was declared today. The counting of votes began on the Murshidabad Parliamentary seat in West Bengal at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Abu Taher Khan of TMC defeated Congress's Abu Hena by a margin of 2,26,417 votes.

Voting took place for the Murshidabad seat in the third phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 69 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Murshidabad Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results LIVE News Updates

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from CPI(M) – Badaruddoza Khan. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the Congress candidate – Abdul Mannan Hossain. CPI(M) has retained its candidate for this elections. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, AITC has fielded Janab Abu Taher, while Congress has announced Abu Hena against Chowdhury as their candidate. BJP has announced Humayun Kabir as its candidate for Murshidabad seat. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 11,92,899 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 5,70,899 are females while 6,22,002 are males. The average literacy rate is 68 per cent, and the main occupation of people is agriculture and tourism. The female to male ratio is 957.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Third Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification March 28
Last date for filing nomination April 4
Scrutiny of nomination April 5
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 8
Date Of Poll April 23
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Baharampur Lok Sabha elections begun on March 28, which continued till April 4. The scrutiny was done on April 5, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 8. The polling took place on April 23.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections took place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.