Purulia Lok Sabha Constituency Results 2019 in West Bengal: Jyotirmoy Singh Mahato of BJP Wins Parliamentary Election
Purulia Lok Sabha Constituency. Image used for representational purpose. (Photo Credit: LatestLY)

Kolkata, May 23: The results of the Purulia Lok Sabha Constituency was declared today. The counting of votes began on the Purulia Parliamentary seat in West Bengal at 8 am on Thursday, May 23. Jyotirmoy Singh Mahato of BJP defeated TMC's Dr Mriganka Mahato by a margin of 2,04,732 votes.

Voting took place for the Purulia seat in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. A total voter turnout of 80.16 per cent was recorded, as per Election Commission of India. Stay with us for Live updates on the results for the Purulia Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal.  Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results

The incumbent parliamentarian, representing the constituency is from AITC – Dr Mriganka Mahato. The MP emerged victorious in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections by defeating the Left Front’s All India Forward Bloc (AIFB) candidate – Narihari Mahato. AITC has fielded Dr Mriganka Mahato again this time from the constituency. To defeat the current MP in the Lok Sabha elections 2019, AIFB has fielded Bir Singh Mahato, while Congress has announced Nepal Mahato as their candidate. BJP has fielded Jyotirmoy Mahato as it's candidate. West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

As per the ECI website – updated on March 13, 2019 – there are 12,57,799 voters in the parliamentary constituency, among them 6,08,743 are females while 6,49,056 are males. The average literacy rate of the constituency is 65 per cent, and the principal occupations are tourism and industries – steel, cement and power. This constituency is famous for its Chhau dance. The female to male ratio is 955.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Sixth Phase:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification April 16
Last date for filing nomination April  23
Scrutiny of nomination April  24
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 26
Date Of Poll May  12
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

According to the Election Commission’s briefings, the process of filing nomination for Purulia Lok Sabha elections began on April 16, which continued till April 23. The scrutiny was done on April 24, and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 26. The polling took place on May 12.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 6 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video)

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AITC bagged 34 seats – gaining 15 more than 2009, while CPI(M) could win only two seats – Raiganj and Murshidabad. Congress emerged victorious on four seats, and BJP opened their account from Asansol and Darjeeling. Lok Sabha elections took place in seven phases across the state – on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. The results would be declared on May 23.