Solapur Lok Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019
Solapur Lok Sabha election 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Mumbai, March 24: Stakes are high for the Congress in Solapur Lok Sabha constituency of Maharashtra which will go to polls on April 18 in the second phase of general elections. The result of the Solapur Lok Sabha election will be declared on May 23. Sharad Bansode of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is the sitting Member of Parliament from Solapur who defeated senior Congress leader Sushilkumar Shinde in 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

In Solapur, the BJP denied ticket to its sitting lawmaker and pitted religious leader Jai Siddeshwar Swamy against Sushil Kumar Shinde. The process of filing nomination for Osmanabad Lok Sabha election began on March 19. The last day for nominations was March 26. Scrutiny was done on March 27 and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was March 29. Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

The Congress is contesting 24 seats, while its ally the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) will fight on 20 seats. The BJP and Shiv Sena are contesting 25 and 23 seats respectively of the total 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule for second phase:

Issue of Notification March 19
Last date for filing nomination March 26
Scrutiny of nomination March 27
Last date for withdrawal of candidature March 29
Date Of Poll April 18
Date of Result May 23

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP-Shiv Sena -Swabhiman Paksha combine together won 42 seats, while the NCP could win just four and the Congress two. Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases - on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.