The term Navratri is almost always associated with Sharad Navaratri in India. But did you know there are two Navratris? In India, the nine-day festival is celebrated four times. But the two major ones are celebrated once in summer and once at the onset of winter. Apart from Sharad Navratri, the other important Navratri is Chaitra Navratri celebrated between March and April, ending in Ram Navami. Both festivals involve nine days of fasting, worshipping Goddess Shakti and celebrations. But there’s also a world of difference between the two. Let’s break it down for you.

What is Chaitra Navratri?

Chaitra Navaratri, which is celebrated in the summer months of March and April, is also called Vasantha Navratri because it coincides with spring. It is observed in the Shukla Paksha of the Chaitra month. The festival also marks the Hindu New Year, which is also celebrated as Vishu, Gudi Padwa, Ugadi or Navreh in different states. Chaitra Navratri is observed to celebrate the changing of seasons – when spring gives way to summer. Like Sharad Navratri, Chaitra Navratri also involves the nine-day worship Shakti. But it concludes with Ram Navami, the birth of Lord Rama.  Fast Like PM Narendra Modi During Sharad Navaratri; Follow These Vrat Tips.

What is Sharad Navratri?

Sharad Navratri, unlike Chaitra Navratri, is celebrated with a lot of pomp and is the more well-known festival of the two. Also known as Maha Navratri, Sharad Navratri is celebrated in the month of Ashwin – between September and October. It also marks the beginning of Sharad or winter months in India. Sharad Navratri is also celebrated to mark the changing of seasons – when monsoons leave and winter sets in. Foods to Eat and Avoid When Observing the Fast.

Sharad Navratri is also celebrated as Durga Puja in Bengal. In rest of the country, Navratri means fasting, feasting, worshipping and playing the daandiya raas – a re-enactment of Lord Krishna’s dance with the gopis.  Navratri 2019 Wishes & Navaratri Images Full HD: WhatsApp Stickers, GIF Greetings, SMS, Quotes, Facebook Photos, Messages to Send During Sharad Navaratri.

Difference Between Sharad and Chaitra Navratri

Sharad Navratri Chaitra Navratri
Celebrated in Ashwin month Celebrated in Chaitra month, the first month of Hindu calendar
Celebrates arrival of winter after monsoons Celebrates arrival of summer after spring
Ends in Dussehra Ends in Ram Navami
Dandiya Raas is a part of celebrations Does not involve Dandiya Raas
Celebrated in the middle of the year Marks the beginning of the year

These are not the only two navratris celebrated in India. In total, there are four navratris – Chaitra, Ashada, Magha Gupta and Sharad. Ashada Navratri is celebrated between June and July to worship Goddess Varahi. Magha Gupta is observed between January and February, and is the lesser-known of the four.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Sep 29, 2019 10:15 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website