Telangana Assembly Elections Results 2013 — Party-Wise Seats' Tally and Electoral Standings in Last Polls
Telangana CM K Chandrashekhar Rao (Photo Credits: PTI/File)

Hyderabad, October 7: The newly formed state of Telangana is going for assembly polls on December 7. The Election Commission of India (ECI) yesterday announced the date for the assembly elections in the state and the counting of votes will take place on December 11. The ruling Telangana Rashtriya Samithi  (TRS) government led by K Chandrashekhar Rao is confident of coming back to the power, while the opposition parties especially, the Congress is hoping to win these elections, which will also set the race for the Lok Sabha election 2019.

The elections for undivided Andhra Pradesh took place on April 30 and May 7, 2014. In those elections, the TRS managed to win 63 seats, while the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) won 117 seats. Similarly, the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 22 and five seats respectively. However after Telangana was officially separated on June 2, 2014, various TDP and other party MLAs resigned and in the by-elections conducted later, the TRS managed to win 90 seats in the 119-seat legislative assembly. Check the full schedule of Assembly Election 2018 in all five states: 

Seats won by each party in the last legislative assembly:

Parties Seats
TRS 90
Congress 13
CPI (M) 1
Total 119

The seats of the Congress reduced to 13, and the TDP took only three seats. The BJP managed to stick to its five seats. One seat was won by the Communist Party of India (M). Meanwhile, the All India Majlis-e- Ittehadul Muslimeen won seven seats in the Telangana legislative assembly.

In September, the state cabinet passed a resolution to dissolve the state assembly to pave the way for early elections. Immediately after the announcement of election date the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) is imposed in the state. With the MCC being imposed, the Election Commission is authorised to regulate the activities of the government, apart from taking punitive action against political parties and individual aspirants.