Afghanistan Historic Test Victory: How Many Matches Did Teams Take to Win Their First Test Match
Afghanistan register their first test win against Ireland (Photo Credits: Twitter)

Afghanistan registered their first Test victory against Ireland under the captaincy of Asghar Afghan on March 18, 2019. This was indeed a historic moment for the Afghanistan cricket team. The Afghan team achieved this feat playing only in their second Test match. In their first Test, they lost to India at the M.Chinnaswamy stadium in June last year. Meanwhile, after Afghanistan's historic Test win, we find out how many matches did other Test playing nations took to register their first test. Afghanistan Register Their Maiden Test Win, Beat Ireland by Seven Wickets

Afghanistan faced Ireland in the one-off test match after the ODI and T20I series in India. The test match was played at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun, Uttarakhand. Ireland batted first and posted the total of 172 in their first innings. In reply, Afghanistan scored 314 runs which gave them a healthy lead. In their second innings, Irish managed to posted only 288, thereby setting Afghan the target of  147 runs. The Afghanistan batsman Ihsanullah Jannat and Rahmat Shah played a fantastic knock of 65 and 76 runs respectively to ensure that their team crosses the line easily. Rashid Khan's five-wicket haul in the second innings also helped Afghanistan in their victory.

Team Number of matches taken by each team for victory
Australia 1
England 2
Pakistan 2
Afghanistan 2
West Indies 6
Zimbabwe 11
South Africa 12
Sri Lanka 14
India 25
Bangladesh 35
New Zealand 45

Afghan player Rahmat Shah was awarded the Man of the Match for his match-winning knock of 76 in the 2nd innings. Rahmat missed out on a hundred in the first inning where he got dismissed on 98. It must be noted that topmost team like India, New Zealand and Bangladesh took more than 20 matches to register their first victory, whereas the newly entrant Afghanistan Test team only took two matches to record their historic win.