DD beat KKR by 55 runs | Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders Live Cricket Score 26th T20 Match

Indian Premier League, 2018

Date: Apr 27, 2018 Start Time: 20:00 IST | 14:30 GMT | 20:00 Local
Venue: Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi
219/4 Overs: 20.0
164/9 Overs: 20.0
Delhi Daredevils beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 55 runs

Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders Live Cricket Score - 26th T20 Match - Summary

End of Over : 20.0 KKR: 164/9

Delhi get their second win of the season. One which they desperately needed and this could very well get their campaign back on track. Plenty of positives for them to take. On Saturday, we have Chennai hosting Mumbai in their new home in Pune. It will begin at 2000 local (1430 GMT). Do join us for that. Cheers!

19.6 4

FOUR! Ends the innings with a couple of boundaries, but to no avail in the grand scheme of things. DELHI WIN BY 55 RUNS! A big one for them. Johnson flicks it over the mid-wicket area and finds the fence. Smiles return in the Delhi dugout.

19.5 4

FOUR! Too full, Johnson creams the drive through the covers and sends it across the boundary line. Good timing on that.

19.4 1

Works it through mid-wicket and takes the single available to him.

19.3 0

Yorker just outside off, Kuldeep backs away, throws his bat at it but can't connect again.

19.2 0

Short ball just outside off, Yadav is a bit sloppy in playing at the ball so misses it.

19.2 1

Wide! Way down the leg side, easy call for the umpire to make.

19.1 1

Fired very, very full on the stumps. Johnson looks to drill this away but gets an inside edge down to fine leg for a single.

End of Over : 19 8 Runs KKR: 153/9
18.6 2

Some comic relief out in the middle provided by Amit Mishra. Yadav gets an inside edge past the leg stump. Mishra from short fine leg chases after it, dives to stop it and half-does it. The ball is stuck under his body, so he gets it out and tosses it to his mate who has come to assist him. Lovely stuff. Two runs taken.

18.5 0

The batsman has been hit on the pads as he tried to sweep that one.

18.4 4

FOUR! On the pads, Yadav works it fine down the leg side with a sweep. Beats short fine leg and gets a boundary.

18.3 1

Drifting in on middle and leg, slogged over mid-wicket. One run taken.

18.2 W

OUT! That's a superb catch from Munro in the deep. On the stumps, Chawla slogs this over square leg. It's travelling flat and towards Colin Munro, who judges the ball well before leaping and taking it above his head.

18.1 1

Works it through mid-wicket and takes one run.


Struck by the crisis emanating from Gautam Gambhir\\\'s resignation as captain, a beleaguered Delhi Daredevils face a herculean task to revive their IPL campaign when they clash with Kolkata Knight Riders here tomorrow under young skipper Shreyas Iyer. Gambhir leaving captaincy midway into the tournament does not guarantee resurrection of the side but the left-hander\\\'s decision has given the team management a chance to infuse new life into the franchise with new ideas.


Gambhir\\\'s rough patch, along with poor form of other batsmen, has resulted in over-reliance on young Rishabh Pant. The team has lost five of its six matches and is languishing at the bottom of the points table. Gambhir the batsman would still be critical if a turnaround has to happen for the Daredevils but it remains to be seen if he remains in the playing XI.


The hosts are now in an unenvious position where they need to win seven of the remaining eight matches to be in Play-offs contention. The 23-year-old Iyer is faced with the enormous task of turning it around for the team as a leader. The young batsman showed that he has the heart for a fight when he took it upon himself to steer the side against Kings XI Punjab. He almost pulled it off but fell short by one big shot. However, it was a performance which indicated that he is not averse to taking responsibility, which is the need of the hour for the Daredevils.


The Daredevils have not been particularly lucky on the fitness front either with Jason Roy (side strain) and Chris Morris (back problem) recovering. The only game Daredevils have won so far was shaped by Roy\\\'s unbeaten whirlwind knock of 91 on debut. A big player not to have clicked for them is Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell. Maxwell has scores of 17, 13, 47, 4 and 12 so far and it is absolutely imperative for the Daredevils that he regains his form.


On the other hand, KKR are also struggling a bit with their bowling. But what has worked reasonably well for them is their batting. Their willow-wielders have been contributing consistently, twice taking the side past the 200-mark but bowlers have struggled to defend even big totals. KKR have won three matches and lost as many to sit fourth in the table.


The last time the two sides clashed, it was KKR which dominated by putting 200 runs on the board to win by a comprehensive 71-run margin. It\\\'s a spin-heavy attack for KKR with Sunil Narine, Kuldeep Yadav and Piyush Chawla doing the bulk of the job. The slow conditions at the Feroze Shah Kotla are likely to suit this combination while the young Shivam Mavi and England\\\'s Tom Curran would spearheading the pace attack.


Australian quick Mitchell Johnson has got only two games so far. Andre Russell has done a fine all-round job for them and the West Indian continues to be a vital cog for them. His brute power would be of immense use on Kotla pitch where the ball may not come on to the bat easily. The conditions will testing for KKR batsmen.


Teams (From) Delhi Daredevils: Shreyas Iyer (C), Chris Morris, Rishabh Pant, Glenn Maxwell, Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Colin Munro, Mohammed Shami, Amit Mishra, Prithvi Shaw, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Daniel Christian, Jayant Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Trent Boult, Manjot Kalra, Abhishek Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane, Naman Ojha, Sayan Ghosh and Liam Plunkett.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Dinesh Karthik (C), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Mitchell Johnson, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill, Ishank Jaggi, Nitish Rana, Vinay Kumar, Apoorv Wankhade, Rinku Singh, Shivam Mavi, Cameron Delport, Javon Searles, Tom Curran and Prasidh Krishna.