Guwahati, March 26: Polling for the Assam Assembly Elections 2021 Phase 1 has begun today at 7 am. Voting is currently underway in 47 constituencies across 12 districts in the first phase of Assam Vidhan Sabha polls. According to the Election Commission, 81,09,815 voters will cast their votes in phase 1 of the Assam polls. Out of the total, 40,77,210 are males and 40,32,481 are females. The voting will continue till 6 pm. Assam Assembly Elections 2021: Key Electoral Battles to Watch Out For in Phase 1 Polls.

The main competition in these elections will be between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress-AIUDF alliance. A total of 264 candidates are in the fray in the first phase. Out of the total 47 seats, 42 seats are from 11 districts of Upper Assam and northern Assam region. Five seats are from central Assam's Nagaon district. Assam Assembly Elections 2021 Dates: Polling in 3 Phases on March 27, April 1 And April 6, Results on May 2; Check Full Schedule.

Here Is The List of 47 Constituencies:

S. No. Name
1  Dhekiajuli
2 Barchalla
3 Tezpur
4 Rangapara
5 Sootea
6 Biswanath
7 Behali
8 Gohpur
9 Dhing
10 Batadroba
11 Rupohihat
12 Samaguri
13 Kaliabar
14 Bokakhat
15 Sarupathar
16 Golaghat
17 Khumtai
18 Dergaon (SC)
19 Jorhat
20 Titabor
21 Mariani
22 Teok
23 Majuli (ST)
24 Amguri
25 Nazira
26 Thowra
27 Sibsagar
28 Mahmara
29 Sonari
30 Bihpuria
31 Naoboicha
32 Lakhimpur
33 Dhakuakhana (ST)
34 Dhemaji (ST)
35 Jonai (ST)
36 Moran
37 Dibrugarh
38 Lahowal
39 Duliajan
40 Tingkhong
41 Naharkatia
42 Chabua
43 Tinsukia
44 Digboi
45 Margherita
46 Doom Dooma
47 Sadiya

In the three-phased polls, the BJP is seeking to retain power in Assam. The saffron party is banking on Prime Minister Narendra Modi's governance, Central public welfare schemes, and on the image of Chief Minister Sarbanand Sonowal. Meanwhile, Congress is heading into the battle against the ruling party bringing the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and the National Register of Citizens (NRC) to the forefront.

The BJP is contesting on 39 seats out of 47, while the remaining seats will be contested by its ally, the AGP. The Congress is contesting in 43 seats. On the remaining four seats, its alliance partners AIUDF, RJD, Anchalik Gana Morcha and CPI-ML have fielded their candidates.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Mar 27, 2021 08:03 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website