Gumla (ST) Vidhan Sabha Constituency Result in Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019: Bhushan Tirkey of JMM Wins MLA Seat
Gumla Assembly elections 2019 (Photo Credits: File Image)

Ranchi, December 15:  Bhushan Tirkey of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) won the Gumla Vidhan Sabha constituency. Tirkey defeated his nearest rival Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Mishir Kujur by a margin of 7,667. Tirkey received 67,130, while the BJP candidate got 59,537 votes. Over 3,000 people voted for NOTA. The counting of votes began on December 23 at 8 am. In 2014, Shivshankar Oraon had won the seat on the BJP ticket.

The Gumla Vidhan Sabha constituency falls in the Gumla district of Jharkhand. Voting in Gumla for the Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019 took place in the first phase on November 30. The constituency is reserved for scheduled tribe category. The Election Commission of India (ECI) on November 2 announced the election schedule for Jharkhand. There were 2.26 crore registered voters in the state. Polling for the 81-member Jharkhand assembly took place in five phases on November 30, December 7, 12, 16, 20. The term of the Jharkhand Assembly is ending on January 5, 2020. Jharkhand Assembly Election 2019 Dates: Know Phase-Wise And Constituency-Wise Schedule For Vidhan Sabha Polls.

In the 2019 assembly elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielded Mishir Kujur. Congress ally Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)) gave ticket to Bhushan Tirkey, while Pradeep Oraon is contested on Janata Dal (United) ticket. The EC has taken the decision to conduct Vidhan Sabha polls in five phases due to security reasons.  Adequate security personnel were deployed in the state to free and fair elections. Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019 Dates to be Announced Today: Know Past Poll Schedule, Results And How BJP, JMM, Congress Fared.

The BJP contested the Jharkhand Assembly elections without any alliance. Meanwhile, the congress contested the elections in alliance with RJD and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM). In the 2014 elections, the BJP had won 37 seats, while its ally All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) clinched five. Congress and JMM won seven and 19 seats respectively. Eight seats were won by the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik). However, six of their legislators joined the BJP in 2015.