The Madhuban vidhan sabha segment is based in East Champaran district of Bihar, and comprises of more than 2.09 lakh voters. The seat will go to polls in the second phase of assembly elections, scheduled on November 3. Results will be declared by the Election Commission on November 10. Madhuban primarily witnesses a battle between the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Along with Madhuban, 93 other constituencies would be contested in the second round of elections on November 3. The assembly segment of Madhuban was represented by the Janata Dal (United) for 10 years between 2005-15, but was wrested by the BJP in the last elections. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 2 Dates And Schedule: Voting on November 3, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 2 Elections

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 16
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 17
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 19
Voting Date  November 3
Result Date  November 10

From the Mahagathbandhan, the Madhuban seat was allotted to the RJD, which had last won the seat in 2005. The party had, this time, issued the ticket to Madan Prasad. From the rival NDA camp, the BJP has fielded sitting MLA Rana Randhir.

The upcoming elections in Bihar is the first major electoral battle after the outbreak of COVID-19. The pre-poll surveys have given the edge to the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA camp, despite stating the possibility of an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Madan Singh Alias Madan PrasadIND902
Rana Randhir (Current MLA)BJP73179
Madan PrasadRJD67301
Vikash KeshariThe Plurals Party427
Rajesh Kumar SinghJanta Dal Rashtravadi417
Sanjay TiwariBhartiya Aam Janta Vikas Party416
Dinesh RamIND384
Aysa KhatoonJan Sangharsh Dal,378
Jagdish PrasadBajjikanchal Vikas Party340
Shashi Ranjan KumarIND2639
Shivjee RayJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)2082
Shiv Shankar RayBSP1251

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 01, 2020 03:38 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website