Phulwari, one of the seats that was contested in first phase of Bihar assembly elections 2020, is reserved for candidates from the Scheduled Caste (SC) community. The vidhan sabha segment is based in Patna district of the state. The voting was held on November 3, whereas, the result was declared by the Election Commission on November 10. Gopal Ravidas of the CPI(ML) was declared as the winner. Bihar Election Results 2020: NDA Wins Another Term With 125 Seats.

Phulwari (SC) primarily witnessed an electoral contest between the Janata Dal (United) and the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist). The seat was among the 94 constituencies that went to polls in the second phase of elections in Bihar, scheduled on November 3. In the 2015 elections, the constituency was bagged by Shyam Rajak of the Nitish Kumar-led party. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 2 Dates And Schedule: Voting on November 3, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 2 Elections

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 16
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 17
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 19
Voting Date  November 3
Result Date  November 10

The Mahagathbandhan candidate from Phulwari seat is Gopal Ravidas of the CPI(M-L). The rival NDA coalition allotted the constituency to the Janata Dal (United), which has fielded Arun Majhi.

The assembly elections in Bihar was the first major poll battle after the onset of COVID-19 pandemic. The opinion polls, ahead of the start of elections, flagged the anti-incumbency wave against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar but gave the edge to the JD(U)-BJP-led ruling camp.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
KAILASH PASWANRashtriya Jagriti Party968
RAMESHWAR PASWANRashtriya Jansambhavna Party950
BACHCHU PASWANBahujan Mukti Party949
GOPAL RAVIDAS (Current MLA)Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)91124
MOTI RAMAmbedkar National Congress909
PRATIMA KUMARI (Sanjay Paswan)IND730
RADHE RAMANBhartiya Dalit Party661
RAVI KUMARThe Plurals Party634
SATYAM KUMAR RAJAKBharatiya Aam Awam Party532
KUMARI PRATIBHAAll India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen5019
KAMLESH KANT CHAUDHARYBhartiya Lok Chetna Party3885
GAJENDRA MANJHIBhartiya Sablog Party3480
SHILA DEVILoktantrik Samajwadi Party2283
AMARENDRA KUMARSanyukt Kisan Vikas Party2112
SATYENDRA PASWANJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1767
SHRIRAJ PASWANPrabal Bharat Party1733

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 12, 2020 02:23 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website