Sultanganj, a Janata Dal (United) bastion, would go to polls in the first phase of Bihar assembly elections 2020. The constituency is based in Bhagalpur district of the state. Voting in the Voting in the constituency will be held on October 28, whereas, the results were declared by the Election Commission of India on November 10. Lalit Kumar Mandal of the JD(U) won the seat. Bihar Election Results 2020: NDA Wins Another Term With 125 Seats.

Sultanganj was among the 71 constituencies that were marked by the ECI for polls in first round of vidhan sabha elections in the state. The seat is considered to be a citadel of the Nitish Kumar-led party, as it is being represented by the JD(U) for the last 20 years. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 1 Dates And Schedule: Voting on October 28, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 1 Elections

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 8
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 9
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 12
Voting Date  October 28
Result Date  November 10

From the Mahagathbandhan, the Sultanganj seat was allotted to the Congress, which issued the ticket to Lalan Kumar. The rival NDA camp allowed JD(U) to contest from the seat. The party had fielded Lalit Narayan Mandal. In the 2015 assembly polls, Subodh Rai of the JD(U) had won the elections.

The elections in Bihar was the first major electoral battle after the outbreak of COVID-19. The pre-poll surveys have given the edge to the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA camp, despite stating the possibility of an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Madhu PriyaIND932
Pankaj KumarJanta Dal Rashtravadi778
Lalit Narayan Mandal (Current MLA)JD(U)72823
Nand Kishor SharmaLok Samaj Party728
Lalan KumarINC61258
Ravi Suman Kumar @ Arun MandalBhartiya Sablog Party4692
Ramanand PaswanIND2860
Rajan KumarIND2589
Raj KumarIND1514
Kiran MishraIND1303
Nilam DeviLJPNA
Himanshu Prasad @ Himanshu KumarRLSPNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Oct 23, 2020 12:32 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website