The Asian cricketing giant, India (IND) is all set to tour Bangladesh (BAN) after 7 long years for a bilateral ODI and Test series. India's tour of Bangladesh will commence with a three-match ODI series. The first ODI is scheduled on Sunday, 4 December at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka. Thus far, the two teams have played 36 One day internationals against each other. India certainly dominates the Bangla tigers with 30 wins in ODIs, meanwhile, Bangladesh was victorious five times only in the past. Out of 36 matches, only one match concluded with no result. Ahead of the upcoming three-match ODI series, let's take a look at the last five head-to-head ODI encounters between India and Bangladesh. Umran Malik Named Replacement for Injured Mohammed Shami in India’s Squad for Bangladesh ODI Series

IND vs BAN, 02 July 2019, India won by 28 runs

In match number 40 of the ICC men's cricket World Cup at Birmingham, India elected to bat first. The mammoth opening stand of 180 runs between Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul in 29.2 overs gave India a solid start. Rohit Sharma smashed 104 runs off 92 balls, whereas KL Rahul contributed 77 off 92 in the final total of 314 runs. Apart from the two openers, Rishabh Pant (48) and MS Dhoni (35) also added some valuable runs in the middle to the final total. Despite a fifer by Mustafizur Rahman, the runs were leaking without any stops. Later, when Bangladesh came in to bat, the opening pair couldn't give them a desirable start, losing Tamim Iqbal early. At one end, Shakib Al Hasan who scored 66 off 74 was making an effort to steady the innings and on another side, Hardik Pandya along with Jasprit Bumrah and Yuzvendra Chahal kept taking the wickets at regular intervals. After Pandya dismissed Shakib at a stage when Bangladesh were 179 for 6, Mohammad Saifuddin carried on the innings further as he remained unbeaten on 51 off 38. However, Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar got rid of tail-enders, leaving Saifuddin's contribution of no use, as Bangladesh were 286 for all out in 48 overs.

IND vs BAN, 28 September 2018, India won by 3 wickets

In the final of Asia Cup 2018 in Dubai, India won the toss and was elected to field first. Bangladesh openers made an ideal start with an opening stand of 120, majorly contributed by Litton Das who smashed 121 off 117. However, after the first wicket dismissal of Mehidy Hasan Miraz (32), The middle order of Bangladesh collapsed completely courtesy of a tremendous spell of 3/45 by Kuldeep Yadav. The other two spin sensations, Kedar Jadav and Yuzvendra Chahal proved handy as well in the middle at the right time. Soumya Sarkar sought some runs, but unfortunately got run out on 33 off 45. Despite a good start, Bangladesh could only post 222 targets on the board. In response, various double-digit cameos from India aided the team to chase down the 223 run total. Captain Rohit Sharma remained the top scorer with 48 off 55. Bangladesh gave a good fight while bowling and kept taking wickets at regular intervals. Dinesh Karthik smashed 37 and MS Dhoni hit 36 in the middle. Kedar Jadhav and Ravindra Jadeja, both added 23 whereas Bhuvneshwar Kumar contributed valuable 21 runs down the order as India won by 3 wickets. Virat Kohli Gears Up for India vs Bangladesh ODI Series, Shares Pictures From Training Session

IND vs BAN, 21 September 2018, India won by 7 wickets

In the first match of the super four stage of Asia Cup 2018 in Dubai, India after winning the toss, invited Bangladesh to bat first. A fiery spell of 4/29 by Ravindra Jadeja along with the pace attack by Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah, who scalped three wickets each, did not allow the Bangladesh batters to settle and score runs. Mehidy Hasan Miraz remained the top scorer with 42 off 50 in the final total of 173 runs. In response, India completed the chase in 36.2 overs after losing three wickets. Captain Rohit Sharma played an unbeaten knock of 83 off 104 balls to guide his team to a convincing victory. Shikhar Dhawan also added 40 and MS Dhoni contributed 33 runs as India won by 7 wickets with 82 balls remaining.

IND vs BAN, 15 June 2017, India won by 9 wickets

In the second semi-final of the ICC Men's Champions Trophy 2017 at Birmingham, India won the toss and was elected to field first. After losing opener Soumya Sarkar for aduck, Tamim Iqbal steadied the innings by smashing 70 off 82. Mushfiqur Rahim also brought about an impactful performance by scoring 61 off 85, in the middle. Captain Mashrafe Mortaza stretched the total to 264 runs after hitting an unbeaten 30 off 25. In response, the Indian top order did the job for the side in 40.1 overs. The Bangladesh bowlers failed to pull off the wickets as Rohit Sharma's unbeaten heroics of 123 complemented by Virat Kohli's unbeaten 96 guided India to a comfortable win by 9 wickets with 59 balls remaining.

IND vs BAN, 24 June 2015, India won by 77 runs

In the third and final ODI of the three-match series at Mirpur, Bangladesh elected to field first. India managed a defendable total of 317 runs with the help of Shikhar Dhawan's 75 and captain MS Dhoni's 69. Bangladesh's skipper scalped three wickets in the middle but the flow of runs remained constant. Ambati Rayudu also contributed a valuable 44 along with Suresh Raina who smashed 38 run cameo off just 21 balls. While chasing, Bangladesh lost an early wicket of star opener Tamim Iqbal as the hosts were 8/1. Soumya Sarkar (40) later carried the innings forward with Litton Das (34). Dhawal Kulkarni succeeded in breaking the partnership as he removed Soumya Sarkar while Bangladesh were 62/2. Axar Patel got rid of Litton Das while Suresh Raina pulled off the two important wickets of Mushfiqur Rahman (24) and Shakib Al Hasan (20) in middle. At one point, Sabbir Rahman (43) and Nasir Hossain (32) looked fine to guide their team to a position from where they could snatch the match back, but Stuart Binny struck at the right time to get Sabbir Rahman out, who was followed by Nasir Hossain soon. And with this Indian bowlers removed the remaining tail-enders to clinch the match by 77 runs.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Dec 03, 2022 12:24 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website