IND vs NZ Head-to-Head Record: Ahead of 1st T20I 2020, Here Are Match Results of Last Five India vs New Zealand Twenty20 Matches
India vs New Zealand. (Photo Credits: Getty images)

India and New Zealand lock horns in the five-match T20I series. The first T20I takes place on January 24, 2020, at Auckland. This will be India’s first five-match T20I series. New Zealand, on the other hand, have already played one five-match T20I series against England. New Zealand lost that series 3-2. And now series against India will be New Zealand’s first assignment post that in the shorter format. India and New Zealand have met each other in 11 T20Is. The Blackcaps lead the head-to-head with eight wins while Men in Blue have won just three. Interestingly, Virat Kohli will feature in a T20I for the first time in New Zealand. The last time these two teams met in a T20I series, Rohit Sharma captained the side while Kohli was rested. Meanwhile, let’s take a look at the last five T20I match results between India and New Zealand. India vs New Zealand 2020 Schedule, Free PDF Download: Get Fixtures, Time Table With Match Timings in IST and Venue Details of IND vs NZ T20I, ODI and Test Series.

India vs New Zealand – February 10 2019 – Hamilton- New Zealand won by four runs

It was a series decider and hosts New Zealand emerged victorious to take a three-match series 2-1. New Zealand batting first posted 212 for four with opener Colin Munro scoring 72 off 40 balls. In response, India managed 208 for six and lost the game by just four runs.

India vs New Zealand – February 08 2019 – Auckland- India won by seven wickets

In the second game of the three-match series, India drew level. Batting first, New Zealand managed 158 for eight in 20 overs. Colin de Grandhomme scored 50 off 28 balls to take his side to a decent total. In response, thanks to Rohit Sharma’s 29-ball 50, India reached the target in 18.5 overs. Did You Know Virat Kohli Has Never Played a T20I in New Zealand? IND vs NZ 1st T20I 2020 Will Be Indian Captain's First.

India vs New Zealand – February 06 2019 – Wellington- New Zealand won by 80 runs

It was the series opener, and New Zealand won the contest convincingly. Set a target of 220 runs, India were bundled out for just 139 runs. Tim Seifert was the top-scorer with 84 off 43 balls.

India vs New Zealand – November 07 2017 – Thiruvananthapuram- India won by 6 runs

This was also a series decider of a three-match series and India won it by six runs. The match was reduced to eight overs per side due to rain. Batting first India posted 67 for five in eight overs. And then, the Blackcaps were restricted to 61 for six in eight overs.

India vs New Zealand – November 04 2017 – Rajkot- New Zealand won by 40 runs

Set a target of 197, India managed only 156 in their allotted 20 overs despite Virat Kohli’s 65 off 42 balls. Trent Boult picked 4/34 to help his side win by 40 runs. Opening batsman Colin Munro smashes unbeaten 58-ball 109 in the match. Virat Kohli Record in T20Is Vs New Zealand: Ahead of IND vs NZ Series, Here's a Look Indian Skipper’s Performance Against Black Caps.

With T20 World Cup 2020 scheduled to take place later this year, teams will be focusing on the shorter format of the game. And thus India and New Zealand face-off in five T20Is. India come into the series with a slight advantage to begin with. However, the Kiwis will be eager to do well and further strengthen their head-to-head record against India.