Maharashtra Kesari Kusti 2020 Winner: Harshvardhan Sadgir Beats Shailesh Shelke in Final of Wrestling Championships
Maharashtra Kesari Final 2019-20 (Photo Credits: Facebook / Maharashtra State Wrestling Association)

Harshvardhan Sadgir became the new ‘Maharashtra Kesari 2020’ as he won the finals held on Tuesday (January 7, 2020). Harshvardhan of Nashik defeated Shailesh Shelke from Latur to be crowned as the champion of the Maharashtra Kesari Kusti Spardha 2020. This clash was held at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Ground in Pune. Shailesh Dhelke represented the Soil division while Harshvardhan Sadgir is part of the Gaddi division. This was the 63rd year of Maharashtra’s prestigious wrestling tournament and Sadgir was crowned as the champion for the first time. Harshvardhan was at his best as he won the final match with a 2-1 scoreline. Maharashtra Kesari Kusti Final 2019–20 Date: Harshvardhan Sadgir vs Shailesh Shelke Summit Clash Scheduled to Take Place in Pune.

None of the two finalists had won the tournament before, so it was a historic clash as a new winner was set to be crowned. Shailesh Shelke is a native of Latur and has been practising for several years under the guidance of Arjunvir Kakasaheb Pawar in Pune at International Sports Complex and is also a commander in the Indian Army. Harshvardhan Singh, on the other hand, is a native of Ahmednagar but represents the Nashik district. Earlier this year, he won a gold medal in Greco- Roman style wrestling at the Under 23 National Wrestling Tournament held in Shirdi.

Before entering the final, Shailesh Shelek of Latur from the Soil division defeated Solanpur’s Dnyaneshwar Jamadade by an 11-10 scoreline. Meanwhile, Harshvardhan Sadgir from Nashik got the better of Kesari Abhijit Katke by a score of 5-2.