Muhammad Akhlaq of Pakistan Tehreek-E-Insaf Wins in PP - 36 in Pakistan's Punjab with 51456 votes

Rana Abdul Sattar of Pakistan Muslim League (N) wins PP - 45 in Pakistan's Punjab With 53760 Votes.

Ramzan Siddique of Pakistan Muslim League (N) wins PP - 166 in Pakistan Punjab with 42068 votes.

Out of the 141 national assembly seats in Punjab, the PML-N is leading on 54 seats, whereas, the PTI is ahead on 66. The results show that Imran Khan has not only penetrated, but is likely to dethrone the Sharifs from their bastion of Punjab.

The PTI candidate is leading from NA 140, falling under Bahawalpur district, by a margin of 3,100 votes. As per the early trends, the Imran Khan-led party has succeeded in denting core voter base of PML-N in Punjab.

PTI Candidate Niaz Ahmed is lead from NA 188, the constituency in Layyah district, by 8,633 votes.

PPP chief Bilawal Bhutto is leading from NA 246, the constituency in South Karachi district of Sindh.

PTI chief Imran Khan has taken a massive lead of 9,000 votes against PML-N's Saad Rafique in NA 131, the constituency in Lahore district of Punjab.

Load More

Islamabad, July 25: Pakistan went to poll on July 25 at 8 am amid tight security. Observers believe that the election this year will be a fierce battle between Pakistan's jailed former premier Nawaz Sharif's Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) and cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan's  Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) in Punjab.

The general elections in the eastern province with a population of over 100 million will decide who will form the next government in Pakistan. Of the total 272 National Assembly seats in Pakistan, 141 falls in Punjab, making it the most populous province of the country.

The National Assembly in Pakistan is a democratically elected body comprising a total of 342 members, of which 272 are directly elected, 60 seats are reserved for women and 10 for religious minorities. The election in Pakistan this year will be one of the most-watched elections in the country’s history. Pakistan’s most populous province of Punjab holds 141 out of 272 seats in the national assembly in Pakistan.

Analysts believe that to win the assembly elections, one has to win a majority in Punjab province. As the Punjab Province has the lion’s share with 141 seats, whosoever gets a majority of the seats here, will form the government at the Centre. Reports inform that Nawaz Sharif’s PML-N party has seen Punjab as its home base and has been in power in the past.

Reports by Geo News state that whenever the PML-N won most seats in Punjab, it went on to form the government, both in 1990 and in 1997. In 2008, the party secured 69 seats, almost all from Punjab. But that year, the PPP won more seats and went on to form the government at the centre. The political parties in the nation made efforts to woo voters.

The PTI needs at least 110 National Assembly (NA) seats across Pakistan to make a formidable coalition government while close to 140 seats are required for a party to form the government. Reports inform that the Pakistan People's Party (PPP) which had won only two NA seats in 2013 polls is hardly seen in the race.

The Election Commission of Pakistan's (ECP) deadline for electioneering expired midnight on Tuesday. As per details by Election Commission, over 3,400 candidates will contest on 272 general seats of the National Assembly, while 8,400 are running for 577 general seats of the four provincial assemblies.