The Shirur Assembly seat in Maharashtra will go to polls on October 21. The counting of votes for the Shirur Assembly seat in Maharashtra will take place on Thursday, October 24 and the results would be announced on the same day itself. The sitting MLA from Shirur Assembly seat is Pacharne Baburao Kashinath who represents BJP. From the Shirur Vidhan Sabha Seat, NCP has fielded Ashok Raosaheb Pawar and BJP has given the ticket to Pacharne Baburao Kashinath.

Maharashtra, the biggest state in Western India, is considered one of the politically most crucial provinces in the country. The state witnessed a saffron surge in 2014, 15 years after being ruled under a coalition regime led by Congress-Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) combine. Maharashtra also houses the mega city of Mumbai -- considered to be the financial capital of the nation. Who Will Win Maharashtra Assembly Elections 2019? Here's What ABP News Opinion Poll Results Predict.

The new government in Maharashtra should be formed before November 9 because the current assembly expires on that day. Pollsters are of the opinion that the incumbent ruling alliance of Shiv Sena-BJP would return to power with a resounding mandate.

The main contest for the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly is between ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) -- which has allied with Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena, and Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) which is contesting the elections in alliance with Indian National Congress. In 2014 Maharashtra Assembly Elections, BJP secured 122 seats, while Shiv Sena clinched 63 seats. NCP managed to win 42 seats, and Congress could secure only 41 seats. Both Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi, and Peasants and Workers Party of India won 3 seats. Asaduddin Owaisi's All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) won 2 seats, while Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh clinched one seat.

According to the census 2011, Maharashtra's total population was 11.24 crores, which is expected to rise to 12.35 crores in 2019. The population of females in 2011 was 5.41 crores, while the male population was 5.82 crores. Considerably, Maharashtra forms 9.28 percent of India's total percentage. The average literacy rate of the state is 82.34 percent, while the female to male ratio (Census 2011) is 929.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Raghunath Mahipat BhavarBSP908
Adv. Narendra Anand WaghmareIND620
Pawar Nitin AbaIND332
Chandan Kisanrao SondekarVBA3148
Sudhir Ramlal PungaliyaIND235
Kailas Sambhaji NarkeMNS1933
Ashok Raosaheb Pawar (Current MLA)NCP145131
Pacharne Baburao KashinathBJP103627
Amol Gorakh LondheBahujan Mukti PartyNA
Chandrashekhar D. GhadageSambhaji Brigade PartyNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Oct 12, 2019 06:44 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website