Election Commission of India to Issue Showcause Notice to NCP, TMC and CPI As Parties Risk Losing National Status Following Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Drubbing
Sharad Pawar and Mamata Banerjee (Photo Credits: PTI)

New Delhi, July 18: The Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) dominant performance in the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections not only reduced the vote share of several regional parties, but has also cast aspersions on aspiration of parties such as NCP, TMC and CPI to maintain status of national parties. ‘BJP Spreading Fake News About West Bengal’, Says CM Mamata Banerjee.

The Mamata Banerjee led Trinamool Congress (TMC), Sharad Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) are set to get show cause notices by the Election Commission (EC) this week. The EC's action comes in the wake of the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections and the performance of NCP, TMC and CPI falling short of the required eligibility to be recognised as a national party. Sharad Pawar Skipped PM Narendra Modi's Swearing-in Ceremony as NDA Govt Violated Protocol, Alleges NCP.

The Election Commission of India rules and eligibility for a party to be given and maintained the status of national party under the Election Symbols (Reservation and Allotment) Order, 1968, states that

1. If in a Lok Sabha Election, candidates of a party garner 6 percent or more votes in a state


2. If four Members of Parliament (MPs) of a party are re-elected from any state


3. If a party wins at least 2 percent of the seats in the previous general elections and Lok Sabha


4. The party is acknowledged and recognised as a state party in at least four states.

As of now in India, the total number of political parties with national status are eight. Apart from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress, CPM (Communist Party of India (Marxist), BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party), Communist Party of India (CPI), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) have the status of national parties.