Beware of 'Sextortion Scam!' Emails Claiming to Record Your Porn History and Make Videos Are Fake
Extortion emails are sent to demand bitcoins (Photo credits: Pixabay, ribkhan)

Would be comfortable with someone watching over your private moments of seeking pleasure by yourself? It would be shocking to know someone keep a tab on your porn history and they send it over an email. That's exactly a kind of phishing scam that is taking place these days. The person on the other side demands ransom in bitcoins or your videos of watching porn would be leaked. Some of your intimate moments on the internet are being used as a tool for blackmailing by some scamsters. Beware of these, they are fake although they seem real with the format in which they are written. This is the new sextortion scam that is running on the internet.

Those behind the scam are using stolen passwords available on the internet and convincing the reader using the most common keywords and searches. The message in the email claims that the sender has your password followed by some threats to demand a ransom in bitcoins. The email states that the sender used a software on your internet device and the camera on that device recorded you while you were watching porn. It mentions taking over your webcam and making a video of viewing pornography. The message is demanding a vast amount of money, which on failing to pay will leak that video to the user's friends and family.

The email is sure creepy but on closer inspection is does show its fake. No hackers have accessed someone's porn history or have installed any such software. They have just picked up passwords from a leaked database available online and sent it in the email. Some online services have leaked passwords on the internet and the darker part of the users know how to misuse them.

The scammer group has apparently used some automated emails to the users. There is a breach here but not the one as claimed in the email. The threat sounds convincing and some may shell out their precious virtual cash as well. But beware of such emails and just delete them rather than panicking. You can change your passwords once again to ensure your account safety.