Sagardighi, March 2: Indian National Congress (INC) candidate Bayron Biswas is leading in by-polls for West Bengal's Sagardighi assembly constituency against Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate Debashish Banerjee, who is trailing by a margin of 53928 votes in the latest trends.

The counting of votes for Sagardighi bye-elections is underway. According to the latest trends till 2.10 pm, Congress is leading with 75,460 votes. Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) has received 21799 votes. Sagardighi Assembly By-Election Result 2023 Live News Updates: Congress Candidate Bayron Biswas Wins West Bengal Bypoll by Over 22,000 Votes.

The counting votes will decide the electoral fates of three Sagardighi candidates -- Congress's Byron Biswas, BJP's Dilip Saha and the Trinamool Congress's Debashish Banerjee. The bypoll for the Assembly seat was held on Monday. Sagardighi Assembly By-Election 2023: Over 13% Voter Turnout Till 9 AM in West Bengal's Murshidabad District Bypoll.

The bye-election to the Sagardighi Assembly seat was necessitated following the death of Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader Subrata Saha in December 2022.

While the BJP is counting its electoral hopes in the constituency on Dilip Saha, the Left Front has put its weight behind the Congress nominee, Bayron Biswas. Apart from Sagardighi, counting of votes are also underway for Assembly segments in four other states.

(This is an unedited and auto-generated story from Syndicated News feed, LatestLY Staff may not have modified or edited the content body)