The 66th National Film awards were announced by the head of the Jury for feature films, on Friday, August 9. Awards were presented in 31 categories in the feature film category. A special Award for film friendly state has also been introduced this year and was won by Uttarakhand.

On August 9, the jury members submitted their report to Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar with their final recommendations in various categories for the awards. Prakash Javadekar told PTI, “They made a lot of efforts for the last two months. I am very sure that they would have picked the best films, the best directors. They will announce that at the press conference today. This is 66th year of film awards and they have become a prestigious institute.” This year, the awards were postponed due to the General elections as opposed to the usual setup where the ceremony is held in May. Uri: The Surgical Strike and Village Rockstars Bag Nominations for Best Asian Film Award at AACTA 2019.

Bollywood films Andhadhun, Uri and Badhaai Ho had a massive presence this year as they swept away with some major awards including Best Director, Best Actors and so on. Ayushmann Khurrana and Vicky Kaushal both bagged the Best Actor award for their excellent contribution in Andhadhun and Uri respectively. Actress Keerthy Suresh bagged the Best Actress honour for her film Mahanati. IFFM 2019 Winners List: Shah Rukh Khan Wins an Excellence in Cinema Award, Gully Boy and Andhadhun Bag Other Top Honours.

Here is the full list of winners:

Most Film Friendly State: Uttarakhand

Best Actor: Ayushmann Khurrana for Andhadhun and Vicky Kaushal for Uri

Best Actress: Keerthy Suresh for Mahanati

Best Hindi Film: Andhadhun (Directed by Sriram Raghavan)

Best Supporting Actress: Surekha Sikri for Badhaai Ho

Best Supporting Actor: Swanand Kirkire for Chumbak

Best Director: Aditya Dhar for Uri

Best Film: Hellaro (Gujarati)

Best Action: KGF Chapter 1

Best Adapted Screenplay: Andhadhun

Best Choreography : Padmaavat for Ghoomar

Best Non-feature Film: Son Rise by Vibha Bakshi and The Secret Life of Frogs by Ajay and Vijay Bedi

Best Regional films

Rajasthani - Turtle

Panchenga - In the Land of Poisonous Women

Marathi - Bhonga

Urdu - Hamid

Telugu - Mahanati

Assamese - Bulbul Can Sing

Punjabi - Arjedha

Best Special Effects: Telugu film Awe and Kannada film KGF

Best Lyrics: Nathicharami

Best Music Director: Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Padmaavat

Best Makeup Artist: Awe (Telugu)

Best Costume Designer: Mahanati (Telugu)

Best Production Design: Kammara Sambhavam (Malayalam)

Best Sound Designer: Uri

Best Editing: Nathicharami (Kannada)

Best Original Screenplay: Chi La Sow

Best Dialogue Tarikh (Bengali)

Best Female Playback Singer:Bindhumalinif for Nathicharami song "Maayavi Manave"

Best Male Playback Singer: Arijit Singh for Padmaavat song "Binte Dil"

Best Child Artist: PV Rohit, Sahib Singh, Talha Arshad Reshi and Shrinivas Pokale

Best Film on Environment Conversation: Paani (Marathi)

Best Film on Social Issues: Padman

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Badhaai Ho

Nargis Dutt Award: Ondalla Eradalla (Kannada)

Best Debut Film of a Director: Sudhakar Reddy Yakkanti for Naal

Congratulations to all the winners for this prestigious honour. The date of the presentation of the awards is yet to be decided.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Aug 09, 2019 03:40 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website