Dhoraiya (SC), also referred to as Dhuraiya or Dhauraiya, is the vidhan sabha segment based in Banka district of Bihar. The seat was contested in first phase of assembly elections 2020 in the state. The constituency was considered to be a Janata Dal (United) bastion, being won by the party since the last five polls. Voting in Dhoraiya was held on October 28, whereas, the outcome was declared on November 10. Bhudeo Choudhary of the RJD was declared winner by the EC. Bihar Election Results 2020: NDA Wins Another Term With 125 Seats.

Notably, the seat of Dhoraiya is reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates. The constituency was among the 71 assembly segments that went to polls in the first phase of elections in Bihar. The seat, since 2009 when a bypoll was conducted, was being represented by JD(U)'s Manish Kumar. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 1 Dates And Schedule: Voting on October 28, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 1 Elections

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 8
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 9
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 12
Voting Date  October 28
Result Date  November 10

The Mahagathbandhan candidate from Dhoraiya seat is Bhudeo Choudhary of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). The rival NDA camp allowed JD(U) to contest from the seat. The latter retained Manish Kumar, the incumbent three-time MLA from the seat, as its candidate.

The electoral battle in Bihar was the first major elections after the onset of COVID-19 pandemic. The opinion polls have largely given the edge to the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA camp, despite projecting an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Amod HarijanBhartiya Dalit Party845
Bhudeo Choudhary (Current MLA)RJD78646
Manish KumarJD(U)75959
Ranjeet SharmaIND3108
Prof. Bilkshan RavidasJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)2948
Puja DeviIND2252
Sadanand TantiIND2244
Mritunjay Kumar RayVanchit Samaj Party1811
Ashok DasNCP1550
Dipak Kumar PaswanLJPNA
Shiv ShankarRLSPNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 12, 2020 12:50 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website latestly.com).