Mumbai, March 24: BJP candidate Manoj Kishorbhai Kotak won Lok Sabha election from Mumbai North-East parliamentary seat in Maharashtra. Polling for Lok Sabha election in Mumbai North-East parliamentary seat in Maharashtra was held on April 29 in the fourth phase of general elections. The constituency assumes significance as it has become a reason for a rift between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally Shiv Sena.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Kirit Somaya of the BJP defeated the 2009 winner Sanjay Dina Patil of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). While the NCP renominated Patil, the BJP fielded Manoj Kishorbhai Kotak after Shiv Sena's objection to Somaya's candidature. Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Dates: Constituency-Wise Complete Schedule Of Voting And Results For General Elections.

The process of filing nomination for Mumbai North-East Lok Sabha election began from April 2. The last day for nominations was April 9. The scrutiny was done on April 10 and the last date for the withdrawal of the nominations was April 12. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha election 2019 schedule for phase four:

Issue of Notification April 2
Last date for filing nomination April 9
Scrutiny of nomination April 10
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 12
Date Of Poll April 29
Date of Result May 23

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the BJP-Shiv Sena-Swabhiman Paksha combine together won 42 out of the 48 seats in Maharashtra. The Congress bagged only two seats and NCP just four with several senior leaders of both the parties losing their seats. Lok Sabha elections are scheduled to be held in seven phases - on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on May 23, 2019 08:22 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website