Lucknow, Dec 8: The Samajwadi Party (SP) on Thursday scored a major victory when it retained the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat and wrested the Khatauli Assembly seat from the BJP. The BJP won the Rampur Assembly seat.

SP candidate Dimple Yadav won the Mainpuri seat with a margin of 2.9 lakh votes, defeating Raghuraj Shakya of the BJP. Mainpuri, Rampur Sadar, Khatauli By-Elections Results 2022: Why UP Bypolls Are Crucial for These Leaders.

The Mainpuri victory is doubly significant for Akhilesh Yadav since it not only means retaining the family seat but also spells a patch up between him and his estranged uncle Shivpal Yadav.

In Khatauli, Madan Bhaiya of the SP-RLD alliance won the seat with a margin of 22,054 votes defeating Rajkumari Saini of the BJP. Rampur Sadar By-Election Result 2022: BJP Breaches Azam Khan's Bastion, Akash Saxena Wins Defeating SP Candidate (Name).

The BJP, on the other hand, wrested the Rampur seat from the SP, and BJP's Akash Saxena won it with a margin of 31,158 defeating Asim Raza of SP.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Dec 08, 2022 04:42 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website