Mumbai Indians have qualified for the playoffs as the fourth team in the Indian Premier League 2023 points table with an impressive victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad on Sunday followed by a defeat of Royal Challengers Bangalore against Gujarat Titans. The five-time champions has qualified for the playoffs after two years. With Mumbai Indians' win, they have 16 points and have moved ahead of RCB, who are fifth with 14.  Rajasthan Royals have been eliminated previously with Mumbai Indians' win. Gujarat Titans, Chennai Super Kings and Lucknow Super Giants had already secured their spots in the playoffs. The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 got underway with Gujarat Titans taking on Chennai Super Kings. The home and away format returns in the IPL after a gap of four years. Teams will be buoyed to play in front of the home crowd. Ten teams will participate in the IPL 2023, with Gujarat Titans starting as defending champions. The IPL 2023 will be played across 12 venues, with the final in Ahmedabad. IPL 2023 Schedule, Free PDF Download Online: Get Fixtures, Time Table With Match Timings in IST and Venue Details of Indian Premier League Season 16.

The teams have been divided into two virtual groups of five each. Group A consists of Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants, while Group B features Chennai Super Kings, Punjab Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Gujarat Titans. A team will play a total of 14 league-stage matches. Each team will get to play seven home and away games. Apart from facing the opposing group teams twice, a side will play a team within the same group once. On Which TV Channel IPL 2023 Will Be Telecast Live? How to Watch Indian Premier League Cricket Matches Free Live Streaming Online?.

IPL 2023 Points Table

Teams P W L NR Pts NRR
Gujarat Titans (Q) 14 9 3 0 20 0.809
Chennai Super Kings (Q) 14 8 5 1 17 0.652
Lucknow Super Giants (Q) 14 7 5 1 17 0.284
Mumbai Indians (Q) 14 8 6 0 16 -0.044
Royal Challengers Bangalore (E) 14 7 6 0 14 0.135
Rajasthan Royals (E) 14 7 7 0 14 0.148
Kolkata Knight Riders (E) 14 6 7 0 12 -0.239
Punjab Kings (E) 14 6 8 0 12 -0.268
Delhi Capitals (E) 14 5 8 0 8 -0.808
Sunrisers Hyderabad (E) 13 4 9 0 8 -0.575

(Abbreviations: Q-Qualified, E-Eliminated)

(Updated after RCB vs GT Match)


Last season, Gujarat Titans finished on top of the points table, followed by Rajasthan Royals, Lucknow Super Giants and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Gujarat and Rajasthan after the playoffs, went on to face in the finals and the Hardik Pandya side ended up winning the title.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Mar 22, 2023 12:40 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website