Know All About 1975 Cricket World Cup: History, Participants and Winner of the Inaugural Edition of World Cup
1975 was the inaugural edition of the cricket World Cup. (Photo Credits: File Image)

The 1975 Cricket World Cup also known as Prudential Cup was the inaugural edition of the limited-overs World Cup. It was held in England and was played between June 07 to June 21. The matches in the first edition of World Cup featured 60 overs per side. The 1975 World Cup was held across six venues- Lord's Cricket Ground, The Oval, Edgbaston Cricket Ground, Old Trafford Cricket Ground, Trent Bridge, and Headingley. And featured 15 matches, including the semifinals and the final. ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule in PDF: Ticket Prices, Dates, Venue Details & Timetable Available for Download Online.

Participating Teams and Format: A total of eight teams participated in the 1975 World Cup. These eight teams were divided into two groups of four teams each. England, New Zealand, India, and East Africa formed Group A while Group B comprised of West Indies, Australia, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. After the group-stage matches, two teams from each group made it to the semi-finals. ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Meet Captains of All 10 Participating Teams.

Semi-Finalists: From Group A England and New Zealand qualified for the semis while from Group B West Indies and Australia made it to last four. In the semis, Australia defeated England by four wickets and West Indies defeated New Zealand by five wickets to qualify for the final.

Winner: West Indies lifted the inaugural cricket World Cup by defeating Australia in the finals at the Lord's Cricket Ground. Batting first, West Indies posted 291 for eight in their allotted 60 overs after captain Clive Lloyd scored 102 off 55 balls. Apart from Lloyd, Rohan Kanhai scored 55. For Australia, Gary Gilmour took 6/48.

In response, Australia managed 274 after being bowled out in 58.4 overs. Ian Chappell was top scorer for Australia with 62 runs. Keith Boyce took 50/4 for West Indies. Indian Team For ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Players Who Will Be Playing Their First ODI CWC Trophy.

New Zealand’s Glenn Turner emerged as the highest run-scorer in the tournament and scored 333 runs from four matches, including two centuries. Australia’s Gary Gilmour was the highest wicket-taker with 11 wickets and he played just two matches- semi-final and the final.