Sarfraz Ahmed Handed Four-Match Suspension for Breach of Anti-Racism Code, Shoaib Malik Named As Stand-In Captain
File picture of Sarfraz Ahmed. (Photo: Getty Images)

Pakistan captain Sarfraz Ahmed has been handed a four-match suspension following his racist comments he made during the second One-Day International (ODI) against South Africa. The Pakistan skipper's remarks were aimed at Andile Phehlukwayo who was batting. As a result, Sarfraz has been charged with an offence under the ICC’s Anti-Racism Code. PAK vs SA 4th ODI Live Score Updates.

The Code under which Sarfraz has been handed the suspension states that: “Engaging in any conduct (whether through the use of language, gestures or otherwise) which is likely to offend, insult, humiliate, intimidate, threaten, disparage or vilify any reasonable person in the position of a Player, Player Support Personnel, Umpire, Match Referee, Umpire Support Personnel or any other person (including a spectator) on the basis of their race, religion, culture, colour, descent, national or ethnic origin.”

Meanwhile, Shoaib Malik has been named as the team’s stand-in skipper. Sarfraz was left out of the playing XI for fourth ODI and will miss the fifth ODI as well. Besides it, Sarfraz will be unavailable for selection for the first two matches of the upcoming T20I series against South Africa. Live Cricket Streaming of Pakistan vs South Africa ODI Series on Sonyliv, PTV & Ten Sports: Check Live Cricket Score, Watch Free Telecast of PAK vs SA 4th ODI 2019 on TV & Online

Sarfraz will also undergo an education programme to promote the understanding and awareness of issues directly relevant to the offence that he has committed. The ICC will work with the PCB to determine when and how this should take place, stated a medal release.

The incident was initially reported by Ranjan Madugalle of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees after he conducted initial investigations and spoke to both players after the match. Following a further investigation, the ICC General Counsel, Iain Higgins, then determined that the player had a case to answer under the Code, and the player was issued with a charge notice on 26 January.

“The ICC has a zero-tolerance policy towards conduct of this nature. Sarfaraz has promptly admitted the offence, was regretful of his actions and has issued a public apology, so these factors were taken into account when determining an appropriate sanction,” ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said.