IPL 2019: From Chris Gayle, Yusuf Pathan to AB de Villiers, Here's the List of Fastest Centuries in Indian Premier League History
Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Yusuf Pathan. File Image. (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

The Vivo Indian Premier League (IPL) Season 12 is about to begin and fans are eagerly awaiting the opening clash between MS Dhoni led Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Virat Kohli's side Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Saturday, March 23 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, which will also host the final match. Fans are in for another exciting  season as the eight teams will take on each other for supremacy in IPL 2019. Every season, old records are broken and new milestones created, including hundreds scored by batsmen. The IPL has seen a number of centuries scored by batsmen who have changed the definition of batting. Scoring a hundred in a T20 match is no small feat, but IPL has been fortunate to witness multiple special knocks. VIVO IPL 2019: Unbelievable Catches From the Past Seasons of Indian Premier League (Watch Videos).

Over the years, the IPL has provided rich excitement to fans thanks to the competition between the bat and the ball (not forgetting the spectacular catches taken). VIVO IPL 2019: 5 Funniest Moments in the History of Indian Premier League.

So far, 52 centuries have been scored in Indian Premier League's history, in all the 11 seasons. Brendon McCullum scored 158 not out in the very first match of IPL, on April 18, 2008. IPL 2019 Schedule Till May 5 Out: Full Time Table of Vivo Indian Premier League 12 League Stage Fixtures, Dates, Venue Details and Match Timings Announced.

Chris Gayle holds the record for the highest score in a single innings of an IPL innings.  The year 2018 saw five centuries scored overall, including one by Rishabh Pant. CSK's Home Venue Chennai to Host IPL 2019 Final on May 12.

Below are the 10 Fastest Hundred by Batsmen in IPL over the years

Player Match IPL Edition Score Balls for 100 Venue
1. Chris Gayle – Royal Challengers Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore v Pune Warriors, 2013 Season 6 175 30 M. Chinnaswamy Stadium,Bengaluru
2. Yusuf Pathan - RR Rajasthan Royals v Mumbai Indians , 2010 Season 3 100 37 Brabourne Stadium,Mumbai
3. David Miller- Kings XI Punjab Kings XI Punjab v Royal Challengers Bangalore , 2013 Season 6 101 38 Mohali Stadium, Punjab
4. Adam Gilchrist- Deccan Chargers Deccan Chargers v Mumbai Indians , 2008 Season 1 109 42 DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
5. AB de Villiers - Royal Challengers Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore v Gujarat Lions, 2016 Season 9 129 42 M. Chinnaswamy Stadium,Bengaluru
6. Sanath Jayasuriya – Mumbai Indians Mumbai Indians v Chennai Super Kings, 2008 Season 1 114 45 Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
7. Murli Vijay – Chennai Super Kings Chennai Super Kings v Rajasthan Royals, 2010 Season 3 127 56 MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
8. Chris Gayle – Royal Challengers Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kings XI Punjab, 2015 Season 8 117 46 M. Chinnaswamy Stadium,Bengaluru
9. Chris Gayle - Royal Challengers Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kings XI Punjab, 2011 Season 4 107 46 M. Chinnaswamy Stadium,Bengaluru
10. AB de Villiers – Royal Challengers Bangalore Royal Challengers Bangalore v Mumbai Indians, 2015 Season 8 133 47 Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

The above mentioned innings stand out not just for the speed of the knock but also for the quality of batting. Last year, fans got to see five scintillating hundreds, including the century in the final by Shane Watson that helped Chennai Super Kings win the title in 2018. With the teams ready and players like MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Shane Watson, Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, and others in the reckoning, fans will definitely get to see explosive hundreds in the Vivo Indian Premier League 2019.