Maharashtra Politics: From Devendra Fadanavis's Resignation to Uddhav Thackeray Becoming Leader of Maha Vikas Agadi, Here Is All That Happened After SC Order on Floor Test
Uddhav Thackeray (Photo Credits: Twitter)

Mumbai, November 26: Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray will be the next Chief Minister of Maharashtra. Udhhav Thackeray will take oath as CM on Thursday, November 28 at 6:40 pm at Shivaji Park in Mumbai. He was elected as the CM candidate and leader of Maha Vikas Agadi – the alliance of Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP, on Tuesday evening. NCP legislative head Jayant Patil moved the resolution proposing Uddhav's name for the chief ministerial post. Congress state president Balasaheb Thorat backed the resolution which was then passed unanimously by all the MLAs of Maha Vikas Agadi.

Thackeray, after getting nominated as the leader of Maha Vikas Agadi, vowed to work to resolve issues of farmers of the state. He said, “Together we will wipe off the tears of farmers in the state.” Lashing out at Devendra Fadnavis, the Shiv Sena Chief stated, “I am not scared of anything. Lies are not part of Hindutva. When needed you to hug us and when not needed, you leave us. You tried to keep us away.” The delegation of the alliance met Governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari in the evening and staked claim to form the government. Supreme Court's Order on Maharashtra Floor Test Becomes Redundant as Devendra Fadnavis Quits as Chief Minister.

Here are Major Political happenings in Maharashtra that Took Place Today:

Supreme Court Oder on Floor Test:

A bench comprised Justices NV Ramana, N V Ramana, Ashok Bhushan, and Sanjiv Khanna on Tuesday, while hearing a joint petition of Shiv Sena, Congress and NCP ordered Devendra Fadnavis and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to prove their majority in the Maharashtra Assembly through a floor test on Wednesday. The petition was filed by the opposition parties against the swearing-in of Fadnavis.

Ajit Pawar Resigns:

Hours after the Supreme Court order, rebel NCP leader Ajit Pawar resigned from the post of Deputy CM. He submitted his resignation to Fadnavis. Ajit told Fadnavis that he was resigning due to personal reasons.

Devendra Fadnavis Resigns:

Following Ajit Pawar’s resignation, Fadnavis also resigned as CM of Maharashtra. During a press conference, he said that the BJP will work as an effective opposition in Maharashtra assembly. Fadnavis also came down heavily on the Shiv Sena and accused the former ally of being power-hungry.

Uddhav Thackeray Elected as CM Candidate:

On Tuesday evening, Thackeray was elected as the CM candidate for Maha Vikas Agadi. Following his election, NCP chief Sharad Pawar greeted Uddhav with a bouquet. According to reports, Patil and Thorat will be sworn in as deputy CMs.

Maha Vikas Agadi Stakes Claim:

After Thackeray was elected as the leader of Maha Vikas Agadi, a delegation of the alliance met the governor of the state and staked claim to form the government. Aaditya Thackeray was also part of the delegation.

Ajit Pawar Meets Sharad Pawar:

On Tuesday night, Ajit Pawar on Tuesday night reached the "Silver Oak" residence of his uncle and party chief Sharad Pawar in south Mumbai. Supriya Sule, the daughter of Sharad Pawar, was also present at the meeting.

In a dramatic turn of events, Fadanavis was sworn in as CM on Saturday after Ajit Pawar extended support to the BJP. The rebel NCP leader also took oath as deputy CM. Ajit had claimed that it had the support of 27 NCP MLAs. However, one by one all the NCP MLAs who earlier supported Ajit returned to Sharad Pawar’s camp. On Monday, in a show of strength, the NCP, Congress and Shiv Sena assembled their MLAs at Mumbai's Grand Hyatt hotel.

The political stalemate erupted in the state with the collapse of the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance after the assembly elections. The Shiv Sena’s demand for equal power-sharing was rejected by the BJP. This led Uddhav Thackeray party to explore other options including forming an alliance with the NCP and Congress. In the assembly elections, the BJP bagged 105 seats, while Shiv Sean won 56 seats. The Congress and the NCP clinched 44 and 54 seats respectively.