Shiv Sena Alliance With Congress, NCP? Uddhav Thackeray Says 'Will Find A Way To Work Together In spite of Ideological Differences'
Udhhav Thackeray and Aaditya Thackeray (Photo Credits: ANI)

Mumbai, November 12: Hours after the President’s Rule was imposed in Maharashtra, Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray expressed willingness to form government in an alliance with the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP). Answering a question on making an alliance with parties of different ideologies, he said that now they have six months to finding the way out to form the government. President's Rule Imposed in Maharashtra by Ram Nath Kovind After Parties Fail to Form Government.

Defending his point of allying with parties of different ideologies, Thackeray gave reference of the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) alliance with the Janata Dal-United (JDU) in Bihar, PDP in Jammu and Kashmir and the TDP in Andhra Pradesh. Taking a dig at Governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari, the Shiv Sena chief said that though the governor rejected his party's request of giving 48 hours to form the government, he now gave them six months.

Details of President's Rule in Maharashtra:

However, Thackeray dodged the question of Shiv Sena, making an alliance with the BJP again. He said, “ Why are you in such a hurry? It's politics. Six-month time has been given (President's Rule). I didn't finish the BJP option, it was BJP itself which did that..." President's Rule in Maharashtra: Know How State Will Be Governed by President Ram Nath Kovind Through Governor.

Uddhav Thackeray's Statement:

President's rule has been imposed in the state under Article 356 of the Indian Constitution. President Ram Nath Kovind will govern the state through Koshiyari. Earlier in the day, Koshiyari recommended President's Rule in the state after the political parties failed to form government in Maharashtra. The state is witnessing political instability since October 24, the day when the results for the Maharashtra assembly elections were declared.

The BJP emerged as the single largest party with 105 seats, while its ally partner Shiv Sena bagged 56 seats. The alliance fell apart after the BJP rejected the demand of the Uddhav Thackeray-led party for equal power-sharing. The Congress clinched 44 seats, and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) remained victorious on 54 seats.