Imran Khan Wins Trust Vote in Pakistan National Assembly, Gets Elected as Prime Minister With Support From 176 Lawmakers
File image of Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan | (Photo Credit: PTI)

Islamabad, Aug 17: Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan, whose Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf emerged as the single-largest party in the general elections held last month, was on Friday officially elected as the 22nd Prime Minister.

Khan won the trust vote with support from 176 lawmakers, as opposed to 96 members of national assembly (MNAs) who voted for PML-N chief Shehbaz Sharif.

To win the confidence motion, a total of 172 votes were required in the 341-member assembly. The effective strength, however, came way down due to absenteeism.

Notably, the PPP led by Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, which is the third-largest party in the national assembly with 43 seats, abstained from the vote of confidence.

Khan was supported by 153 MNAs of the PTI, along with a slew of lawmakers from smallest parties, including seven from the Muttahida Qaumi Movement, three each from Balochistan Awami Party and Pakistan Muslim League, four from Balochistan National Party, three from the Grand Democratic Alliance, one each from the Awami Muslim League and Jamhoori Watan Party. Nine independently elected lawmakers also voted in PTI's favour.

Meanwhile, the hardline Islamist group, Jamaat-e-Islami, which has 12 lawmakers in the assembly, refrain from participating in the trust-vote.

The government of Imran Khan rests on the support of seven smaller parties and nine independent lawmakers. Out of the 176 lawmakers which the coalition comprises of, 153 is contributed by the PTI, whereas, 14 are from the seven other parties and nine are independently elected.

The swearing-in of Khan as the Prime Minister is scheduled tomorrow at the President's House in Islamabad.

Shehbaz Sharif, the former chief minister of Punjab and brother of ousted PM Nawaz Sharif, will serve as the leader of the opposition.