Bihar, October 25: Hathua is an assembly constituency in Gopalganj district of Bihar. The voting in the Hathua constituency was held in the second phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 on November 3. Polling started at 7 am and continued till 6 pm. Counting of votes was held on November 10 and the result will also be declared on the same day. RJD's Rajesh Kumar Singh won from the seat in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020.

The Bihar election is one of the biggest elections globally during the COVID-19 pandemic. The contesting candidates for Bihar Assembly 2020 elections are Ram Darshan Prasad from Lok Jan Shakti Party, Sabib Alam from Nationalist Congress Party, Ramsewak Singh from Janata Dal (United) among others. Darbhanga Rural Vidhan Sabha Seat in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020: Candidates, MLA, Schedule And Result Date.

The voting for the first phase was held on October 28 covering 71 assembly constituencies, the second-phase voting on November 3 covered 94 seats. The third phase of voting on November 7 covered a total of 78 assembly seats.

Rashtriya Janata Dal got 80 seats in the 2015 Assembly elections, while Janata Dal (United ) managed to win 71 seats. Bharatiya Janata Party won 53 seats and Congress won 27 seats.

According to the IANS-C Voter opinion poll, the ruling JD(U)-BJP combine or the NDA will return to power in Bihar. In 2015, Nitish Kumar became the chief minister forming an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Rajesh Kumar Singh (Current MLA)RJD86731
Raj Kumar SrivastavIND851
Sabib AlamNCP749
Surendra Ram S/O Late Chanderdeo RamBhartiya Rashtriya Dal678
Ramsewak SinghJD(U)56204
Mohammad` MustafaBahujan Mukti Party511
Abhinandan PathakVanchit Samaj Party472
Shreeram BhagatIND4135
Kashinath SinghJanata Party363
Surendra Ram S/O Kanhaiya RamBSP3392
Indrajit Gupt JyotishkarRashtriya Jan-Jagran Morcha305
Surendra GuptaIND2343
Dr Shashi Bhushan RaiIND1803
Maksudan Prasad SinghIND1103
Ram Darshan PrasadLJPNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 10, 2020 10:35 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website