ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Check out the List of Cricketers Who Walked Away With Player of the Tournament Trophy Across All Editions
Who were the Player of the Tournament of each edition? (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

Over the years, the ICC Cricket World Cup has given us many moments which remain fresh in our memories. Whether it’s Yuvraj Singh’s form in 2011 World Cup or Mitchell Starc snapping vital wickets throughout 2015’s edition of the mega-event, the fans relish not only relish their performances but also cite examples of these players while talking about the tournament. For a long time, the International Cricket Council handed over the Man of the Match Award in the finals for their performance in the summit clash. ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule in PDF: Ticket Prices, Dates, Venue Details & Timetable Available for Download Online.

But since 1992, the International Cricket Council started handing over the Man of the Tournament awards to the best performers of the tournament. Ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, let’s have a look at the performers of the tournament.

Martin Crowe- 1992

New Zealand’s Martin Crowe was adjudged as the Player the Tournament in 1992. Throughout the tournament, Crowe scored 456 runs with an average of 114.00 in the tournament which was held in Australia and New Zealand.  Crowe had scored one century and three fifties.

Sanath Jayasuriya -1996

Sri Lanka’s Sanath Jayasuriya was made the Man of the Tournament in 1996 World Cup which was hosted by India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Jayasuriya was awarded Man of the Tournament for his aggressive and exciting strokeplay and his match-winning qualities. He scored 221 runs throughout the tournament and batted at the strike rate of 132 runs. He also snapped seven wickets.

Lance Klusener- 1999

South Africa’s Lance Klusener was a treat to watch in the 1999 World Cup which was held in England. The South-African all-rounder not only scored 281 runs but also snapped 17 wickets in the tournament. While Rahul Dravid was the leading run-scorer (461) and Shane Warne was the leading wicket-taker. His all-around performance earned him the man of the series award.

Sachin Tendulkar- 2003

Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar was a treat to watch as India reached the finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2003, in South Africa. Tendulkar scored 673 runs and also snapped a couple of wickets. Tendulkar's 673 runs in the 2003 Cricket World Cup is the current record for most runs scored in a single edition in World Cup history. Australia won the World Cup 2003.

Glenn McGrath- 2007

The World Cup 2007 was hosted by West Indies, Australia’s Glenn McGrath walked away with the Player of the Tournament award as his team lifted the coveted trophy. The Australian pacer went on to snap 26 wickets in the tournament.

Yuvraj Singh-2011

Yuvraj Singh was adjudged the Man of the Series in the year 2011. After 28 long years, India lifted the World Cup 2011 and Yuvraj Singh scored 362 runs in the tournament. Yuvi also snapped 15 wickets in the tournament and was later diagnosed with cancer.

Mitchell Starc -2015

Known for his sharp wicket-taking Yorker deliveries, Mitchell Starc was adjudged as the Man of the Tournament in the last edition of the World Cup. Mitchell Starc took away the Player of the Tournament trophy as Australia walked away with the World Cup 2015.

World Cup 2019 will begin on May 30th 2019 with the match between the hosts England and South Africa.  Virat Kohli and men will be playing their first game against South Africa at the Rose Bowl Cricket Ground.