How To Vote on EVM and Verify on VVPAT; Here Is Your Step by Step Guide to Vote in Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly Elections 2019
EVM machine | (Photo Credits: Getty Images)

New Delhi, October 15: The much-awaited Assembly elections for the 288-member Maharashtra and 90-member Haryana assembly will be held on October 21. The counting of votes and results will be declared on October 24. In September, the Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the scheduled for the upcoming polls in the state. With the voting due this month, it becomes important for people to know how they should cast their votes during the upcoming polls.

An individual willing to vote needs to know that a Voter’s ID or the Electors Photo Identity Card (EPIC) issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) is mandatory for all eligible voters. The voter ID is a mandatory document during the verification process before casting a vote. Assembly Elections 2019 Schedule: Maharashtra & Haryana Go to Polls in Single-Phase on October 21. 

Here's How to Cast Your Vote Using EVM

  1. An EVM or Electronic Voting Machine is an electronic device which records votes. An individual is needed to show the voter ID or other ID to the polling officer to tally the name in the voter's list. The polling official will then check the name in the voter list and will take a look at the ID card. The individual’s finger will then be inked and will be sent to the EVM to cast vote.
  2. The polling official will give a slip and take the individual’s signature on a register (Form 17A). The individual needs to deposit the slip at the third polling official and show your inked finger and then proceed to the polling booth.
  3. The polling machine operates on the "press a button" mode and there are no papers involved. The EVM typically comprises a ‘Control Unit’ and a ‘Ballot Unit’ which are connected by a 5-metre wire.
  4. Beside every candidate’s name and party symbol on the machine, there’s a blue button. The voter needs to press the button adjacent to the name of the candidate of their choice and the respective party’s symbol. The machine then records the vote.
  5. The Control Unit is placed with the Presiding Officer or a Polling Officer and the Balloting Unit is placed inside the voting compartment.

Instead of issuing a ballot paper, the Polling Officer in-charge of the Control Unit will release a ballot by pressing the Ballot Button on the Control Unit. This will enable the voter to cast his vote by pressing the blue button on the Balloting Unit against the candidate and symbol of his choice.

How does the VVPAT Work

The Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) is an independent system attached with the EVM which allows the voters to verify that their votes are cast as intended.

When an individual casts the vote, a slip is printed containing the serial number, name and symbol of the candidate and remains exposed through a transparent window for 7 seconds. The printed slip automatically gets cut and falls in the sealed drop box of the VVPAT. In Maharashtra, Haryana and Jharkhand, BJP Likely to Fight Assembly Elections Under Incumbent Chief Ministers.

Who is Eligible to Cast the Vote in Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly Elections 2019

  1. Any Indian citizen who is 18 years on the first day of January of the year, is eligible to cast vote.
  2. The individual should be enrolled in the electoral roll of India or the polling area of the Indian constituency where you reside
  3. The person should be a registered resident of the polling area of the constituency where you want to be enrolled.

What Are the Document Required to Vote

To register as a voter for the upcoming polls in Maharashtra and Haryana, an individual should have a copy of proof of age, identity and address.

What is NOTA And When Was it Introduced?

NOTA or "None Of The Above" is a voting option on EVMs. This option allows voters to reject candidates in their constituency. The NOTA system of voting was introduced In October 2013 after a Supreme Court order. The NOTA is a ballot option in some jurisdictions or organizations, designed to allow the voter to indicate disapproval of the candidates in a voting system. It is based on the principle that consent requires the ability to withhold consent in an election, just as they can by voting "No" on ballot questions.

How is The Chief Minister of a State Elected?

At present, the Chief Minister of Maharashtra is Devendra Fadnavis while Haryana is currently under the leadership of Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar.

The Chief Minister of any state in India is elected through a majority in the state legislative assembly. The Governor invites the party with the majority to form the government. The MLAs then announce their party’s chief ministerial candidate after which a political party, who won the majority, forms a government in the state.

In Maharashtra, during the 2014 Assembly polls, the BJP had won 122 seats, its ally Shiv Sena 63 seats, the Congress 42 seats, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 41 seats while others managed 20. In 2014, the Congress and the NCP had contested the polls separately after sharing power for 15 years in the state.

In the 2014 Assembly polls in Haryana, the BJP won 47 seats, the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) won 19 while the ruling Congress managed just 15 seats. Two seats went to the Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC), and one each to the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). Five Independents were also elected.