Bakhri (SC) Vidhan Sabha constituency is one of the 243 in the Bihar Assembly. The seat falls under the Begusarai district and is reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC) candidates. It is a part of Begusarai Lok Sabha constituency. CPI's Suryakant Paswan won the seat in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. Bihar Vidhan Sabha Elections 2020 took place in 3 phases this time, and not 5, which has usually been the norm.

The 1st phase of Bihar Vidhan Sabha Elections 2020 was held on October 28 (71 seats), the 2nd phase on November 3 (94 seats), and the final phase will concluded on November 7 (78 seats). The results for Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 were out on November 10.

Upendra Paswan, of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), was the outgoing MLA from the Bakhri (SC) constituency. In 2015 Bihar Assembly Elections, he had defeated Ramanand Ram of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by a huge victory margin of over 40,000 votes. In 2010 Bihar Elections, it was BJP’s Ramanand Ram who beat Ram Binod Paswan of the LJP be a vote margin of over 15,000 votes.

Come 2020 Bihar Assembly Elections, the main contenders from the Bakhri (SC) seat were BJP’s Ramshankar Paswan, and CPI’s Suryakant Paswan. The seat has been a musical chair between the BJP, CPI, RJD, and the Congress over the years.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
MANOJ DASBahujan Mukti Party588
LAL BAHADUR PASWANAapki Apni Adhikar Party382
MAHESHWAR RAMJanata Dal (Secular)346
SATYA PRAKASHRashtriya Jan Vikas Party2395
TULSI TANTIShoshit Samaj Dal2094
RAMANAND RAMJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1946
SANJAY KUMARThe Plurals Party1278

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 11, 2020 02:16 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website