Hisua, the assembly segment of Bihar located in Nawada district, was contested in the first phase of assembly elections scheduled on October 28. The primary electoral battle in the seat was between the Indian National Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Nitu Kumari of the Congress defeated sitting MLA and BJP candidate Anil Singh, as per the results declared by the Election Commission. Bihar Election Results 2020: NDA Wins Another Term With 125 Seats.

Hisua was among the 71 constituencies that are slated for voting in the first round of elections. The seat, in the last three elections, has been won by the BJP. In the last assembly polls, party candidate Anil Singh has defeated JD(U) candidate Kaushal Yadav by over 12,000 votes.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 1 Elections

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 8
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 9
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 12
Voting Date  October 28
Result Date  November 10

From the Mahagathbandhan, the Hisua seat was allotted to the Congress, which issued the ticket to Nitu Kumari. The NDA candidate from the seat was sitting BJP MLA Anil Singh.

The elections in Bihar was the first major electoral battle after the outbreak of COVID-19. The pre-poll surveys had given the edge to the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA camp, despite stating the possibility of an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Anil SinghBJP77839
Uttam Kumar ChaudharyBSP3696
Azad Geeta Prasad SharmaIND3281
ANIL KUMAR SHARMARashtriya Jan Jan Party2890
SURESH PASWANPeoples Party of India (Democratic)1295
SUDHIR KUMARShoshit Samaj Dal1157

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Oct 22, 2020 05:54 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website latestly.com).