Meghalaya Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Complete Dates of Voting And Results For General Elections
Image used for representational purpose.

New Delhi, March 10: The Election Commission on Sunday announced the polling dates for the 17th Lok Sabha Elections. The polling for the Lok Sabha for the 543 seats will take place in Seven (7) Phases from April 11 to May 19, 2019 while the counting of votes will take place on May 23, 2019. The polling in Meghalaya would take place in First phase on April 11, 2019 for two seats.

The election dates were announced by three Election Commissioners – Sunil Arora (Chief EC), Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra – in the national capital. The Commissioners informed that adequate security arrangements have been done for the smooth conduction of polls in the country. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Constituency-Wise Schedule: Check The Voting Dates of Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata & Other Cities. 

Here is the Complete Schedule for Elections (Constituency-Wise):

Phase 1 Sl No.  PC No.  Constituency   Category
11/4/2019 1 1 Shillong ST
(Polling Date) 2 2 Tura ST

Here is the Complete Schedule for Elections (State-Wise):

Phase Polling Date States Election Result
1 April 11, 2019 Andhra Pradesh-25,Arunachal Pradesh-2, Bihar-4, Assam-5,Chattisgarh-1,Jammu & Kashmir-2,Maharashtra-7,Manipur-1,Meghalaya-2, Mizoram-1,Nagaland-1,Orrisa-4,Sikkim-1,Telangana-17,Tripura-1,Uttar Pradesh-8,Uttarakhand-5,West Bengal-2,Andaman & Nicobar-1,Lakhswadeep-1 (Total-91) May 23, 2019
2 April 18, 2019 Assam-5, Bihar-5,Chattisgarh-3,Jammu & Kashmir-2,Karnataka-14,Maharashtra-10,Manipur-1,Orrisa-5,Tamil Nadu-39,Tripura-1,Uttar Pradesh-8, West Bengal-3,Pondicherry-1 (Total-97) May 23, 2019
3 April 23, 2019 Assam-4,Bihar-5,Chattisgarh-7,Gujarat-26,Goa-2,Jammu & Kashmir-1,Karnataka-14,Kerala-20, Maharashtra-14,Orrisa-6,Uttar Pradesh-10,West Bengal-5,Dadra & Nagar Haveli-1,Daman & Diu-1 (Total-115) May 23, 2019
4 April 29, 2019 Bihar-5, Jammu & Kashmir-1,Jharkhand-3,Madhya Pradesh-6,Maharshtra-17,Orrisa-2,Rajasthan-13, Uttar Pradesh-13, west Bengal-8 (Total-71) May 23, 2019
5 May 6, 2019 Bihar-5, Jammu and Kashmir-2,Jharkhand-4,Madhya Pradesh-7,Rajasthan-12,Uttar Pradesh-14,West Bengal-7 (Total-51) May 23,2019
6 May 12, 2019 Bihar-8,Haryana-10,Jharkhand-4,Madhya Pradesh-8,Uttar Pradesh-14, West Bengal-8, Delhi-7 (Total-59) May 23,2019
7 May 19, 2019 Bihar-8,Jharkhand-3,Madhya Pradesh-8,Punjab-13,West Bengal-9, Chandigarh-1, Uttar Pradesh-13, Himachal Pradesh-4 (Total-59) May 23, 2019

In Meghalaya, the main political parties contesting the Lok Sabha elections for the two seats include – Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), United Democratic Party (UDP, National People's Party (NPP) and others. In 2014, despite threats from infringe elements, people turned out in large numbers for voting, and the voter turnout in Meghalaya was 68.79 per cent.

In 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, Congress's Vincent H Pala won the Shillong seat with the support of 2,09,340 voters and 33.76 per cent vote share, while an Individual candidate Prechard BM Basaiawmoit finished second by gaining the support of 27.25 per cent voters. However, NPP’s Purno Agitok Sangma won the Tura seat with the support of 52.22 per cent votes by defeating Congress's Daryl William Cheran Momin, who secured only 43.55 per cent votes. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections. 

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule And Dates: Voting In 7 Phases, Results On May 23 (Watch Video):

Later in 2016, when the By-Elections took place, NPP's Conrad Kongkal Sangma won by securing 68.16 per cent votes and defeated Congress's Dikkanchi D Shira, who managed to garner only 28.40 per cent voters' support. The results were declared on May 16, 2014.

in 2014, Meghalaya had 7,77,639 males voters and 7,89,602 females voters. However, only 5,24,774 males and 5,53,284 females exercised their democratic rights. Due to this, the male voting turnout was 67.48 per cent for males, and the female voter turnout was 70.07 per cent. Combinedly, the total voting percent was 68.79 per cent (ECI, 2014). It is almost expected that there would be a rise in the number of voters in 2019, as the ECI had declared that they would be updating the list soon.