Facebook Confirms Spying on Messenger, Photos, Chats and Links Shared, But for Preventing Social Abuse Cases
Facebook Messenger agrees to spying on your conversations (Photo credits: Pixabay.com)

The Cambridge Analytica Scandal was an eye-opener regarding the safety issues online. The data leaks by social media giant Facebook were shocking enough for users. Although Mark Zuckerberg agreed to some mistakes, many users opted to move out. Several users deleted their accounts but is that the end of the problem? The company has now revealed that its chat application Facebook Messenger does scan the photos, text chats, and links as a security measure to see if people are not breaking any rules!

Zuckerberg while talking in an interview mentioned how people were trying to pass on sensational messages through Messenger so the company system ensures what's going on. “In that case, our systems detect what’s going on. We stop those messages from going through," Zuckerberg said. The company told Bloomberg, the conversations are private but they get scanned to prevent any kind of abuse on social media space. “For example, on Messenger, when you send a photo, our automated systems scan it using photo matching technology to detect known child exploitation imagery or when you send a link, we scan it for malware or viruses,” a Facebook Messenger spokeswoman said in a statement. “Facebook designed these automated tools so we can rapidly stop abusive behavior on our platform.” Facebook Data Leak Scandal: Here’s How to Safeguard Privacy and Limit Your Data Sharing on Facebook

This may upset a few users but the company maintains that Messenger does not collect any sort of data to sell to the advertisers. The statement given the company about the Messenger conversations reads, "Keeping your messages private is the priority for us, we protect the community with automated systems that detect things like known images of child exploitation and malware. This is not done by humans. We do not listen to your voice and video calls." You may even ditch the application if you are expecting extreme privacy while chatting to someone. It points how neglecting the terms and conditions can be harmful.