Wayanad Lok Sabha Constituency in Kerala Results 2019: Congress Party President Rahul Gandhi Elected MP
Wayanad Lok Sabha Constituency (Photo Credits: File Photo)

The results of the Wayanad Lok Sabha Constituency has been declared. Congress President Rahul Gandhi won the constituency with 7,06,367 votes. He had contested from Kerala for the first time along with his traditional seat of Amethi in Uttar Pradesh. Gandhi won from the constituency by a margin of 4,31,770 votes. Other candidates in the fray in Wayanad included Communist Party Of India (CPI) candidate PP Suneer, Bharath Dharma Jana Sena's (BDJS) Thushar Vellapally and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Mohamed P K. Voting took place for the Wayanad Constituency on April 23. According to the Election Commission, a total voter turnout of 80.28 per cent was recorded in the constituency.

Wayanad, a rural district in Kerala is one among the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. The region which shares borders with Karnataka and Tamil Nadu has been a Congress stronghold. It is famous for its lush green cover, wildlife and is a major tourist spot in the state. Wayanad constituency was formed in 2008 following fresh delimitation of seats. MI Shanavas from the Congress party won the 2009 elections and 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Shanavas died in 2018 and the seat has been lying vacant since then.

Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency comprises of seven assembly segments including Balusseri (SC), Elathur, Kozhikode, North Mananthavady (ST), Sulthan Bathery (ST), Kalpetta, Thiruvambady, Eranad, Nilambur and Wandoor (SC). The constituency number of Wayanad is 4.

Wayanad had grabbed national attention after Congress nominated its national president Rahul Gandhi from the district. CPI's P P Suneer, who was the former district secretary of the party in Malappuram was Left's candidate in Wayanad. The BJP had extended support to Thushar Vellappally of BDJS. Check Full Schedule of Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule for Wayanad Constituency:

Announcement and Issue of Press Note March 10
Issue of Notification March 28
Last date for filing nomination April 4
Scrutiny of nomination April 5
Last date for withdrawal of candidature April 8
Date Of Poll April 23
Date of Result May 23
Dates Before Elections Shall be Completed May 27

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 3 Schedule And Dates (Watch Video):

The Lok Sabha elections 2019 was held between April 11 and May 19 in seven phases. In Kerala, voting was held in a single phase. During the third phase, the polling was held in 115 Lok Sabha constituencies of 14 states. The counting of votes was held on May 23 and thereafter the results were declared.