MS Dhoni Named Indian Cricket Team 'Captain' on BCCI's Website: Officials Correct The Mistake After Being A Joke on The Social Media!
The Tale of Two Indian Captains | MS Dhoni | Virat Kohli (Photo Credits: PTI)

India lost the One Day International (ODI) series against England, earlier this week, and surprisingly all the limelight is being hogged by the former Indian captain, Mahendra Singh Dhoni! Former? Not really. If the profile bio of Indian cricketers were to be checked on the official website of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the captain of the Indian cricket team still happens to be MS Dhoni. Yes, you read that right! Not Virat Kohli, but MS Dhoni.

People on social media, i.e. on Twitter and Facebook, had a laugh riot on the issue where the former Indian captain MS Dhoni was mentioned as the current captain of the Indian team.

Twitterati had a field day, on July 19, and Dhoni was cited as the team captain still. We bring you some of the hilarious tweets that were doing the rounds on Twitter.

1. Virat Kohli Fan Asks To Repair The Mistake. BCCI, Please?

2. MS Dhoni fans are not to be blamed, MIND IT!

3. Does BCCI Want MSD The Captain, Back?

4. Please clarify, BCCI!

5. It Has Been Two Years, Still

However, as per the latest screenshot of BCCI’s official website, the mistake has been corrected. The designation of ‘captain’ is where it rightfully should be, written against Virat Kohli’s name. You can check it below.

Latest Screenshot of Official BCCI Website (Taken on July 20; 3.50 PM)

Earlier, MS Dhoni was the centre of attention when the Indian team lost 2-1 to England in the recently concluded ODI series. The visuals which came surfaced online after the match, of Dhoni taking the match ball from the match umpires, sparked speculations that MS Dhoni is soon going to retire. However, head coach Ravi Shastri dismissed all such thoughts the other day.

For the record, MS Dhoni stepped down from the captaincy role in ODIs and T20Is in January 2017. In Test cricket, he had stepped down in 2014, during the Test series against Australia.