Patna Sahib Lok Sabha Constituency Result 2019 in Bihar: Ravi Shankar Prasad Defeats Shatrughan Sinha
Image used for illustration purpose

Patna, May 23: BJP veteran and Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad has defeated sitting MP and Congress candidate Shatrughan Sinha from the Patna Sahib Lok Sabha constituency. The seat went to polls in the seventh phase, held on May 19. The constituency recorded a turnout of 63 per cent. Stay tuned here for the live election results and updates emerging from Patna Sahib Lok Sabha seat in Bihar. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Results: Check Final Tally Here

Notification for the 59 seats going to polls in the seventh phase, which includes Patna Sahib, was released by the ECI on April 22. Aspirants were be asked to file their candidatures by April 29 -- the last date for filing the nominations. The Mahagathbandhan candidate from the seat was the incumbent MP Shatrughan Sinha, who would be contesting on the Congress ticket. The BJP-led NDA has fielded Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad.

In the 2014 general elections, the Patna Sahib constituency was won by Sinha, on the BJP ticket, with a margin of nearly 2.6 lakh votes over his nearest Congress rival Kunal Singh. The seat was won by him in 2009 as well.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Phase 7: Schedule, Date, States And Constituencies

Results of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Patna Sahib, along with other constituencies across the nation, will be declared by the Election Commission on May 23.