What If...? is a new animated series by Marvel Studios developed for Disney+. It features an ensemble cast of characters that will be put in different situations compared to their live-action counterparts to ask the question 'what if?'. It will feature a voice cast that’s bigger than any ensemble that Marvel has ever put out (yes bigger than Avengers: Endgame too) and will have many of the original familiar faces returning to voice their characters as well. Marvel Studios’ What If…? Trailer: The Avengers Reassemble for This Disney+ Anime Series That Mixes Up Their Fates and Powers (Watch Video).

Jeffrey Wright will be voicing the Watcher, the celestial being, who will serves as a narrator for the series, while observing the various What If...? events from different multiverses.

From the original roster of Marvel characters and the actor playings, the below would be returning to voice the characters.

The voice cast includes:

Jeffrey Wright as Uatu / The Watcher

Andy Serkis as Ulysses Klaue

Angela Bassett as Ramonda

Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange/Doctor Strange Supreme

Benedict Wong as Wong

Benicio Del Toro as Taneleer Tivan/The Collector

Bradley Whitford as John Flynn, from the Agent Carter One-shot

Carrie Coon as Proxima Midnight

Chadwick Boseman as T'Challa/Star-Lord

Chris Hemsworth as Thor

Chris Sullivan as Taserface

Clancy Brown as Surtur

Clark Gregg as Phil Coulson

Cobie Smulders as Maria Hill

Danai Gurira as Okoye

David Dastmalchian as Kurt

Djimon Hounsou as Korath the Pursuer

Dominic Cooper as Howard Stark

Don Cheadle as James Rhodes/War Machine

Emily VanCamp as Sharon Carter

Evangeline Lilly as Hope van Dyne/Wasp

Frank Grillo as Brock Rumlow

Georges St-Pierre as Georges Batroc

Hayley Atwell as Captain Peggy Carter

Jaimie Alexander as Lady Sif

Jeff Goldblum as Grandmaster

Jeremy Renner as Clint Barton / Hawkeye

John Kani as T'Chaka

Jon Favreau as Happy Hogan

Josh Brolin as Thanos

Karen Gillan as Heist Nebula

Kat Dennings as Darcy Lewis

Kurt Russell as Ego

Leslie Bibb as Christine Everhart

Mark Ruffalo as Bruce Banner

Michael B. Jordan as Killmonger

Michael Douglas as Hank Pym

Michael Rooker as Yondu Udonta

Natalie Portman as Jane Foster

Neal McDonough as Dum Dum Dugan

Ophelia Lovibond as Carina (Guardians of the Galaxy 1 Collectors slave)

Paul Bettany as Vision

Paul Rudd as Scott Lang

Rachel House as Topaz (Grandmaster)

Rachel McAdams as Christine Palmer

Samuel L Jackson as Nick Fury

Sean Gunn as Kraglin Obfonteri

Sebastian Stan as James "Bucky" Barnes

Seth Green as Howard the Duck

Stanley Tucci as Abraham Erskine

Taika Waititi as Korg

Tilda Swinton as The Ancient One

Toby Jones as Arnim Zola

Tom Hiddleston as Loki

Tom Vaughan-Lawlor as Ebony Maw

Also important to note that this will be the late Chadwick Boseman’s final appearance as T’Challa.

While most of the actors are returning to voice their characters, it seems like Tony Star/Iron Man ( Robert Downey Jr), Steve Rogers/Captain America (Chris Evans), Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel (Brie Larson), Spider-Man/Peter Parker (Tom Holland), Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), Ultron (James Spader), Gamora (Zoe Saldana), Drax (Dave Bautista), Wanda Maximoff/Scarlet Witch (Elizabeth Olsen) and Shuri (Letitia Wright) will be voiced by someone else .

This can be a slight disappointment for the fans because the actors themselves have become so synonymous with the roles that it is hard to imagine someone else playing them. Marvel’s What If...? will premiere on Disney+ Hotstar on August 11, 2021.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jul 09, 2021 06:13 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website latestly.com).