Gurugram, June 22: The counting of votes for the 46 Municipal bodies in Haryana begins. The polling for Haryana Municipal Elections 2022 was held on June 19 for the posts of President and members of all wards of 28 Municipal Committees and 18 Municipal Councils. The voting took place in 456 wards of 18 municipal councils and 432 wards of 28 municipal Committees.

PM Narendra Modi congratulated the winners.

Check Tweet:

Overall winners count

Elections held: 46 municipal councils and committees

 BJP wins 22 seats of MC presidents

JJP wins 3 seats of MC presidents

Independents wins 19 seats of MC presidents

AAP wins 1 seats of MC presidents

INLD wins 1 seats of MC presidents

CM Manohar Lal Khattar Congratulates Winners

Out of the total 31 wards in Kalka MC, 18 wards won by BJP candidates. Krishan Lal Lamba of BJP wins Kalka MC President elections with 8,364 vote margin. The rest 13 wards were won by the independent candidates. Other parties failed to win any seats in Kalka.


Independent candidates have won majority of the wards, followed by the BJP.

The BJP has lost two posts in Karnal - which is chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar's home turf.

AAP candidate Nisha Kano Vangha wins presidents post from Ismailabad municipal committee of Kurukshetra district. She defeated BJP-JJP candidate Pooja Garg by 101 votes.

BJP won president election in 10 out of 18 municipal councils. These councils are- Gohana, Jind, Jhajjar, Bahadurgarh, Charkhi Dadri, Kalka, Sohna, Kaithal, Palwal and Fatehabad.

Results of 11 municipal committee presidents have been declared so far. BJP has won in eight, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) two and  AAP managed to bag one post.

As of 10:30 am, BJP's 32 out of 136 candidates have won. While AAP's 5, of 133 candidates have registered a win in Haryana MC Polls. A total of 2848 independent candidates contested in Haryana Local Body Polls. Out of 2848 independent candidates, 523 candidates clinched a win.

Aam Aadmi Party on Wednesday claimed fist win in Sohna municipal council by 408 votes in ward no. 1. With this win, AAP opens its account in Haryana political landscape.

Check Tweet by AAP Haryana: 

The ruling BJP-JJP alliance and AAP contested the polls on party symbols, while Congress opted out of fighting the election on the party symbol. However, many Congress members entered the fray as Independents. Haryana Municipal Corporation Election Results 2022 Time And Details: Know When And Where to Watch Live Streaming of Results For Haryana Local Body Election 2022.

Over 17 lakh voters in Haryana exercised their right to vote. The voter turnout was recorded at nearly 70%. Meanwhile, the future of the 405 candidates is locked in EVMs. The Bawal municipal committee in Rewari recorded the highest voter turnout at 84.6%, while Bahadurgarh municipal council in the Jhajjar district saw the lowest turnout at 59%.

Like the previous MC Polls, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) contested the urban body elections together. Congress candidates, despite poor performance in the Assembly Elections 2022, are looking forward to challenging the BJP-led alliance. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), in its maiden Municipal Body polls, is testing the waters ahead of the 2024 Assembly Elections in Haryana.

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Jun 22, 2022 08:11 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website