Chanpatia, the constituency located in West Champaran district of Bihar, went to polls in the second phase of upcoming assembly elections scheduled on November 3. The vidhan sabha segment is considered a bastion of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The party has been winning the seat consecutively since the last five elections. This round of poll marked their sixth consecutive victory as BJP candidate Umakant Singh was declared the winner by EC. Bihar Election Results 2020: NDA Wins Another Term With 125 Seats.

In the second round of elections, when Chanpatia went to polls, 93 other constituencies were also contested. The results were declared on November 10, when the Election Commission of India had scheduled the counting of votes. Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 2 Dates And Schedule: Voting on November 3, Results to be Declared on November 10.

Schedule of Bihar Phase 2 Elections

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 16
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 17
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 19
Voting Date  November 3
Result Date  November 10

From the Mahagathbandhan, the Chanpatia seat was allotted to the Congress, which had last won the seat in 1972. The party had fielded Abhishek Ranjan from the constituency. From the NDA camp, the BJP retained the seat, and issued the ticket to Umakant Singh. In the 2015 assembly polls, BJP's Prakash Rai had emerged the winner with a margin of less than 500 votes against his JD(U) rival.

The elections in Bihar was the first major electoral battle after the outbreak of COVID-19. The pre-poll surveys have given the edge to the JD(U)-BJP-led NDA camp, despite stating the possibility of an anti-incumbency factor against Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Ramayan YadavIND938
Tripurari Kr. Tiwari @ Manish kasyapIND9239
Munna SinghIND875
Umakant Singh (Current MLA)BJP83828
Ravisagar BharatiAazad Samaj Party (Kanshi Ram)730
Abhishek RanjanINC70359
Shekh FirozVanchit Samaj Party690
Om Prakash JaiswalIND346
Bipin Nath Tiwari Alias Bipin TiwariLoktantrik Jan Swaraj Party339
Sanjay RamProutist Sarva Samaj322
Rajeev RanjanThe Plurals Party297
Sheshnath BhartiIND1375
Santosh Kumar GuptaRLSPNA

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 12, 2020 02:47 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website