Saharsa Vidhan Sabha seat is situated in the Saharsa district of Bihar. The Saharsa Assembly constituency falls under the Madhepura Lok Sabha seat. About 1,207 candidates contested in the third and final phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. Alok Ranjan of BJP won on this seat with 1,03,538 votes. Out of the total 243 Seats, NDA won absolute majority with 125 seats and Mahagatbandhan got 111 seats. Voting for the Saharsa election took place on November 7 in the third phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. Counting of votes for the Bihar polls took place on November 10.

Bihar went to polls in three phases. Phase 3 voting was held on November 7 in 78 Assembly constituencies spread across 15 districts. Here is the complete schedule of Phase 3 of Bihar Assembly Election 2020: Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 Phase 2 Dates And Schedule: Voting on November 3, Results to be Announced on November 10.

Bihar Elections 2020: Phase 3 Schedule:

Last Date For Filing Nomination  October 20
Scrutiny of Nominations  October 21
Last date for Nomination Withdrawal  October 23
Voting Date  November 7
Result Date  November 10

RJD fielded 46 candidates for phase 3 of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020, while BJP fielded 35 candidates and JD(U) gave ticket to 37 candidates. The candidates for Saharsa Assembly Election 2020 included Lovely Anand from RJD, who fought against Alok Ranjan of BJP and Bidhen Chandra Jha from NCP among other candidates. The winner of Bihar Assembly Election 2015 was RJD's Arun Kumar, who defeated BJP candidate Alok Ranjan by a margin of over 39,000 votes.

Voting for first phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 was held on October 28 and second phase was held on November 3. Elections in the state were the first major polls amid COVID-19 pandemic. While most were looking at it as a two-way fight between the NDA, comprising of Nitish Kumar's JD(U) and BJP, and the Mahagathbandhan consisting of Tejashwi Yadav's RJD, Congress and Left, the LJP this time decided to go alone with Chirag Paswan at the helm of affairs in the party. It was also a test for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

MLA CandidatesPartyVotes
Ranjit Kumar RanaIND9994
Amar kant Vats urf Sohan JhaJantantrik Vikas Party907
Rajesh Kumar JhaThe Plurals Party845
Lovely AnandRJD83859
Kamal Deo SharmaLog Jan Party - Secular,738
Amit KumarIND658
Krishna ShekharSamajwadi Janata Dal Democratic613
Vimlesh Kumar SinghNationalist Janshakti Party530
Siyaram PaswanIND3276
Kishor KumarIND2487
Birendra KumarIND1545
Ranjan PriyadarshiJan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik)1505
Bidhan Chandra JhaNCP1199
Alok Ranjan (Current MLA)BJP103538

(The above story first appeared on LatestLY on Nov 12, 2020 02:33 AM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website